1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Desire in for Repair - how will I cope?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by madhatter1689, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    My volume down button is playing up and as it is within the 2 year warranty I have decided to send it back to HTC repair [thanks SUroot for telling me about this]. One small snag is I am rooted and s-off. Rang HTC and they said that rooting does void my warranty but the HTC chap said I could go here www.htcdev.com, hit kernel source code and then see downloads and download the HTC Desire Android 2.3 upgrade and this would return it to a state that they would be happy with.

    This is what I did. It was easy enough to follow the instructions on the pdf file in the zip file and I was un-rooted in a matter of minutes.

    HTC were very good at emailing me instructions on what I must and mustn't send with the phone. I didn't have proof of purchase but that doesn't matter really. The only negative thing I would say is that they do not tell you to make a note of your serial number [under the battery when you remove it]. You need the serial number for tracking your device. Fortunately I had make a copy of mine.

    The HTC Repair centre phone number and opening hours are
    08458900079 Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 6:00 pm (Mon - Fri) 9:00 am - 12 pm (Sat)

    The phone [less battery, sim card, sd card and back cover like the HTC chap said] was
    packaged up and UPS collected on Monday 12/9. I was able to track the package and it was returned to me on the Friday of the same week. It came back fixed.

    I honestly can't complain about my experience of the HTC Repair Centre.

    Thanks again to SUroot and Rastaman for their advice.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Well I see it 1 of 2 ways.
    Use the 2.3 RUU to get stock GB which is easier now but if it returns with that OS, you'll have to use the new revolutionart beta to root which is harder later as its all new to you.

    Or use teppic74s downgraded to get the 2.1 virgin software harder now but when it returns easier to root with unrevoked as you've done this before....
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    personally i would have put this in the root section as thats where most of the rooters spend their time

    can you do "fastboot oem boot" in cmd prompt in windows with the device connected and booted to fastboot, then paste the stuff here
    it will give us the cid and a few version numbers as to what RUU to use

    I cannot remember if you are s-off or not as this will make a difference as if you are s-off with one of the new hboots you will need to fasboot flash the hboot downgrader before flashing the RUU or youll be stuck with the alpharevhboot which is a tell tail sign
     
  4. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Hi chaps,

    thanks for helping out. Dan, the latter idea sounds good. Can you point me to where I download it and what I need to do with it. Edit: is this what you mean http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=768256

    Rastaman - I am s-off and I am not sure about how to do the fastboot thing you mentioned. Regarding hboot, I don't know anything about them. I know I didn't change one to the alpharev ones.
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    if you are s-off then you generally have to have used alpharev to do so
    how did you get s-off
    boot to hboot (voldown+power) and tell us the hboot version etc
    use the faq regarding fastboot and it will tell you how to configure and use

    it is important we find out the hboot version tho
     
  6. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    I did use alpharev but I don't remember changing the hboot. Does it do it automatically?

    Getting into hboot is difficult because the fault on the phone is the volume down button. If I reboot with the return button press with power button it says at the top

    Alpharev
    Bravo PVT ship s-off
    HBoot -0.93.0001

    I came across the site I think Dan was referring to and it says


    Windows Installation

    0. Install HTC Sync (driver required).

    1. Extract the downloaded zip file fully (do not just click on the zip file).

    2. Enable USB debugging on your phone. Ensure 'ask me' is set under 'Connect to PC' setting with 'charge only'. Plug in your phone.

    3. Double-click on the win-down file.

    4. Follow instructions and wait.

    It doesn't say where to extract the file to. i assume to the PC somewhere, right?

    I am not going to do anything to the phone until you give me the ok.
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    ok so its not a protected hboot which is fine so you dont have to do anything special to flash the RUU.

    I wanted to know the original sw version you were on before you rooted as you may not need to downgrade or flash the latest 2.3

    was your device branded before you rooted or were you using standard htc software?
     
  8. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Thanks Rastaman, I was branded - Virgin Mobile.
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK

    There are no virgin froyo ruu's so you will have to ise the gingerbread dev ruu
     
  10. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    ok so you are saying I should follow Dan's first option and forget the other one? I have downloaded the file from the website I mentioned and extracted the files. There are two zip files and two apk files. The RUU is in one of them with instructions. The other zip is to do with wallpapers and the two apk files are to do with teeter and flashlight. I guess I run the RUU first and then copy the rest to the phone afterwards and install.

    So I am okay to go ahead with the RUU from the htcdev site?
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    Yes as the downgrade option would take you to a wwe unbranded rom and you would need a goldcard for that. Thos would invalidate your warranty as you are not running the branded rom for your carrier. The 2.3 dev ruu is for any eu carrier thus supported by htc. Aye just flash the ruu the install the apks afterwards
     
  12. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    okay, thanks for that. Will let you know how it goes.
     
  13. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Ok, that worked like a charm. No problems encountered and the phone is up and running okay. I thought I had better make it look like I had actually used the thing so changed stuff on the screens and added a few apps :)

    Thank you both for your help, much appreciated. Will keep you posted of how things go by updating the opening thread.
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    lol you didnt have to go that deep. its covered in warranty it doesnt matter to them if its booting with legit software lol
     
  15. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    okay lol.

    I installed the two apps but not the wallpapers cos I didn't know where they should go. Strange why a flashlight and the teeter game are supplied and nothing else!!

    This has been a helpful lesson and I will keep hold of this RUU in case I need it in the future.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...