1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Desire stuck on htc logo screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chewyshaun, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. chewyshaun

    chewyshaun Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    HI

    I have an o2 htc desire and it has never been rooted before, i performed an OTA update and the phone froze. It was stuck on the 02 logo screen and at the time i had access to hboot and recovery etc. After reading up i thought the solution was to download an o2 ruu, I did this but had a file 110 error and would not complete so I downloaded

    RUU_Bravo_Froyo_HTC_WWE_2.29.405.5_Radio_32.49.00. 32U_5.11.05.27_release_159811_signed

    just to see if that would work but got another error.

    Now instead of being stuck on an o2 screen I am stuck on a HTC screen with 4 little white triangles in the corner. I have been reading for hours about gold cards and rooting but I can no longer access hboot or recovery, if i hold volume down and power or back and power it just goes straight to the htc screen with no vibrating.

    What can i do as far as i can understand i need access to the phone to make a gold card which i obviously cannot do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Ooh shit!

    I don't think that's the O2 release.
     
  3. chewyshaun

    chewyshaun Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    ooh shit indeed,

    is there a way out of it
     
  4. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    I'm a little out of my depth but as I understand without access to HBoot there's not alot that can be done.

    Goto www.shippedroms.com and find your O2 release. There may be a way of flashing it via PB99IMG?

    Do you have a friend with a Desire so you can make a goldcard?
     
  5. chewyshaun

    chewyshaun Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    none of my friends have htc desire, i have the correct o2 rom but it wont complete, it gets near the end and gives a 110 file error, when i use the o2 ruu it says i currently have 2.14.207.3 and the o2 ruu on shipped roms is 2.14.207.1. I have tried renaming the rom to PB99IMG.zip (which i pulled from windows temp folder after running the exe) and putting on root of sd card but the same thing happens.
     
  6. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Then you best sit and wait for further advice, its no good me shoting in the dark.
     
  7. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Bump.

    I'm interested to see if I'm right as the original OP hasn't returned.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Making a gold card for android maybe doesn't require a phone. The CID it uses is from the SD card, so in theory you should be able to make it in a card reader.

    Although this is an O2 release:

    Shipped ROMs

    If shipped roms is unobtainable, google "2.14.207.1" and you may find an alternative location to download it.
     
  9. chewyshaun

    chewyshaun Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I already tried using the official o2 rom but i get a file error as stated in my original post:(
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You need to find it somewhere else
     
  11. chewyshaun

    chewyshaun Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Sent it back to HTC and they have replaced the board and the screen. So if anyone else has the same problem it looks like a hardware problem
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No, it was a software flash gone wrong (OTA + the RUU), which they fixed with replacing the hardware.

    Once its bricked for whatever reason, thats about it. I'm sure HTC could fix it, but it would be easier to swap the parts out.
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    thats a radio brick it got to the point of flashing the radio when doing the update and failed
    its rare
    ive only seen about 3 people on this forum in time ive had a desire and all have had it fixed by sending it off to htc
    if its a brick there is nothing else you can do
    a 4 cornered exclamation cannot be recovered, its different to a bootloop or a single exclamation or even a misc error
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes, theres nothing the end user or even a dev can do. Im sure HTC will have their ways to reformat the hardware and put it into reconditioned units though.
     
  15. No_u

    No_u Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    483
    45
    63
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    They may do as its showing the HTC screen instead of the o2 screen
     
  17. No_u

    No_u Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    483
    45
    63
    What about the fact that it's so messed up it won't even start..
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    An OTA update can brick it anyway, if it is interrupted during its flashing process (depending on how much of an OTA update it is).
     
  19. chewyshaun

    chewyshaun Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    There is no problem with the warranty and I got a months free line rental. At the end of the day it was an OTA update that failed that kick started the problems. I just won't ever update the phone when I get it back.
     
  20. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    thats no fun :p
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...