1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Desktop software?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rwestiv, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. Rwestiv

    Rwestiv Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    49
    4
    36
    West of the Mississippi
    Does Samsung make desktop software for the US?

    GBA
     

    Advertisement

  2. UserName872

    UserName872 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    621
    89
    78
    Network Administrator
    Philadelphia, PA
    Yes Google Samsung infuse kies software. Just downloaded it for my wife's infuse today.
     
  3. Egidio

    Egidio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    131
    26
    53
    Male
    Austin, TX
    Thanks. I had no idea what this did, but I Googled it and found the software for Macs. It's a nice tool to have.
     
  4. BadFishCM

    BadFishCM Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    120
    29
    43
    Kies wont connect with my infuse, anyone else?
     
  5. Rwestiv

    Rwestiv Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    49
    4
    36
    West of the Mississippi
    I don't think it will work in the US.
     
  6. Egidio

    Egidio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    131
    26
    53
    Male
    Austin, TX
    Er, hello... :) I'm in the US (Austin, TX) and have my Samsung Infuse connect with my Mac. I was able to sync the phone with my Mac without any glitches. Could it be another reason? Maybe an outdated app version? I downloaded my app directly from the Samsung site.
     
  7. Rwestiv

    Rwestiv Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    49
    4
    36
    West of the Mississippi
    Please post the link.
    I can't find it on the Samsung website.

    Never mind,i just saw that you are on a Mac.
     
  8. Egidio

    Egidio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    131
    26
    53
    Male
    Austin, TX
  9. somanyapps

    somanyapps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    172
    5
    36
    VA
    Does Kies work on a PC with the Infuse? I'm getting a message that my device is not supported by Kies 2.0.

    I tried this because of the apparent inability of my Infuse to connect to the AT&T server? Now Kies doesn't work, but it is not clear whether it should. Still not sure if the server issue is because I don't need to update, or there really is a problem connecting to the server. Isn't there some way to test the communication with the server that doesn't involve checking for an update?
     
  10. PDConner

    PDConner Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    63
    1
    16
    I guess there isnt software for the Infuse in USA... There is for Canada and UK but nothing for US... This sucks...
     
  11. somanyapps

    somanyapps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    172
    5
    36
    VA
    Egidio is in TX, but he's on a Mac.
     
  12. Egidio

    Egidio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    131
    26
    53
    Male
    Austin, TX
    Now, isn't it odd that it would work on a Mac and not have one app for PC??? That is a first...
     
  13. somanyapps

    somanyapps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    172
    5
    36
    VA
    Yeah, go figure. Not sure what to do now.

    I was on the phone last week, first with AT&T, then with Samsung, trying to get help with the server issue. Samsung wanted to do a reset of my phone, but I said no, primarily because I couldn't think fast enough to decide whether I wanted to get into it or not, so I played it safe. Does anyone know what that procedure is, and whether it might have any real chance of making any difference? What is lost? I didn't do the initial setup of the phone, and I'm not sure how much really needs to be done. I did back up my contacts to my SD card, although that wouldn't be hard to redo manually. I had hoped Kies would resolve it because I had read threads reporting the same problem on the Captivate where they used Kies and that worked to update their phone.
     
  14. Suzzen

    Suzzen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Egidio,
    Really, I would love your help. I returned this phone and have an iphone and I don't like going to return and buy the infuse again. I was going to go by a netbook to have things work. Would love your assistance wolfpromo1@mac.com.
    Susan
     
  15. Egidio

    Egidio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    131
    26
    53
    Male
    Austin, TX
    Susan, I no longer have an iPhone. I am a happy Samsung Infuse user. You can post your Infuse questions in this forum so all can pitch in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...