1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Developer Team Optimus M Discussion

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by omgbossis21, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.

    Cool
     

    Advertisement

  2. omgbossis21

    omgbossis21 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    704
    142
    93
    Post up when u get it
     
  3. t3084

    t3084 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    327
    28
    43
    Tustin, CA
    sent via pony express :p
     
  4. omgbossis21

    omgbossis21 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    704
    142
    93
    I may of left an SD card in it, if so link.
     
  5. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    got the device - no SD inside. (no biggie ive got dozens lol.) Quick question... What are the differences between the models of the optimus? (m, s, t, v?)
     
  6. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    The screen uses a different digitizer.we have the synaptics touchscreen while the optimus s/v/u uses mcs6000..... I think that's the name of it..the T is a GSM phone and probably is more similar to the S than the M. The optimus one is the main phone for this series, it's a GSM phone. A lot of dev work on the S is based on the one. Dev work on the V is based on S (because those phones are identical, dev work on the V has surpassed the S with a good number of roms, but as far as stable roms, the S wins).Dev work on the M is based on the V.Dev work on the C is based on the M. The optimus U is unpopular, T is unpopular, Q is unpopular.
     
    KJohns likes this.
  7. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    the reason i ask is this; there is a cm10 port for the optimus s (i believe) and i figured that would be as good as place as any to start.
     
  8. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Yea I would try this instead:
    [ROM][WIP]CM10.0.0-RC0-BobZ - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com
    It's from the optimus v, the one for the optimus S is for a ZVJ baseband, and the ZVJ firmware is actually stock gingerbread, meaning there would be a lot of mess if you used the optimus S CM10.....it was also ported from the optimus one. The optimus V one is built from source and works on ZV4/5/9 which is all equal to optimus M froyo.

    Edit: you could flash that if you wanted to, it will not brick you. It will probably boot just fine as well.

    I also have one of BobZ test builds for MS690 CM9 if you would like to test that.
     
  9. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    cwm appears to be toast ..
     
  10. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    heck yeah, id like to check it out. i figured what i would do is grab ones that were buggy and try to connect the dots on it and try nd get things working. reverse engineer if u will. (that sounds so unpleasant.)
     
  11. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    BobZhome's CM9 test build: [link removed] please ask me or BobZhome for a test build.

    If it doesn't boot, you will have to build BobZhome's ICS kernel and flash it.
     
    KJohns likes this.
  12. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    what do you mean??? status 7??????
     
  13. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    as in clicking on anything in recovery brings up the cwm logo
     
  14. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Power button is not select, camera button is. Power button toggles UI
     
  15. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    still nothing.
    [edit] reflashed cwm - good to go
     
  16. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Weird...oh well
     
  17. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    version of cm10 i tried has major screen issues lol.
     
  18. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    :rofl: it won't work cause it uses different driver ;)
     
  19. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    just trying different things... keeping logs and such of what bugs are involved with each and going from there.

    [edit: did you have a link for that kernel]
     
  20. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    MS690 branch:
    https://github.com/BobZhome/GingerKernel-thunderc/tree/MS690

    You gotta build cause I lost track of my files....and it's somewhere in my partition dedicated to Ubuntu, unreadable by windows...
     
    KJohns likes this.
  21. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
  22. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    default config file:
    1chaos_MS_defconfig
     
  23. joneidy

    joneidy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    307
    376
    88
    Computer Technician; Currently Developing for Andr
    Methuen, MA

    Great comparison of the Optimus One family, just one correction. Being the owner of an Optimus T I have to point that the Optimus One and the T are identical devices. The only difference is that the T is company branded to T-Mobile while most of the time the Optimus One is not branded to any company. Any software or Rom for the One can be used on the T with no issues. Oh and btw, the T is very popular in the US.

    Not trying to be mean or anything, just trying to get things straight. Don't take it as an offense, I actually liked the great comparison. Just trying to provide readers with the correct information.
     
    KJohns and sammyz like this.
  24. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Ah, maybe the T forums are just dead on android forums. Thanks for the correction.
     
  25. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    First kernel attempt is underway... need to take a break for foooooood.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...