1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Device not recognized in ubuntu

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bfuzze, Aug 12, 2011.

1. bfuzze

bfuzze Lurker
    None

Aug 12, 2011
    This is my first time posting on this forum...

I just got my transformer and am having trouble connecting to it from my desktop via usb. I've been surfing the web for a couple days trying a variety of different things. I'm relatively new to the android platform, but I've been using ubuntu for a few years.

What really troubles me is that I'm not getting ANYTHING when I connect the tablet. In the past, if I connected an usb device that ubuntu doesn't recognize/know how to interface with I get at least some indication that a device has been connected in the form of some sort of error.

I've tried playing with the udev rules as described in developer docs and on this forum.
    Created /etc/udev/rules.d/90-android.rules (at first it was 51-, but then I read someone had luck raising the priority). This is what the file looks like now:
    Code (Text):
    2. SUBSYSTEM=="usb_device", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"
    4. SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0bb4", MODE="0666"
    6. SUBSYSTEM=="usb_device", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0b05", ATTRS{idProduct}=="4e0f", MODE="0666", OWNER="root"
    8. SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0b05", ATTRS{idProduct}=="4e0f", MODE="0666", OWNER="root"
    10. SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idVendor}=="0b05", MODE="0666"
    I'm not sure if rules can conflict with each other so initially I did each individually and restarted udev service as well as adb server. Now I just have them all unescaped. Seems like they would all be read in and stored, but I'm not sure if this works.

With each attempt I look for the tablet using:
    lsusb
    abd devices

On the tablet I have 'Unknown sources' checked (I know this pertains to app install, but I think its worth a mention) and 'USB debugging' checked.