1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Device status modified and PC data connection

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by valon090, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    Hello,

    I have a Samsung galaxy s3. I have a problem with connecting it to my PC and also updating phone software. When i bought the phone, i couldnt connect to my PC or update my software and after i researched it, i found out that the device status was modified. I did not do anything to the device and didnt download anything and i dont understand why it is modified when i bought it. It came with the original packaging and it was unopened. so i cannot update the firmware and cannot connect to the PC.

    My Android version is 4.0.4 and it cannot upgrade. Please let me know if you can help me. I contacted the live chat support in US first since I bought my phone there through Amazon, but the model number showed that the phone is from UK. Please let me know if you can help me in any way because I am trying to solve this for weeks and its getting frustrating.

    Device status: Modified
    Android version: 4.0.4
    Model Number: GT-I9300

    ps. I recently discovered that the phone does not support 3g as well, only Edge which is much slower. Might this have to do with the issue as the one above?

    Thank you in advance ppl
     

    Advertisement

  2. Netcat

    Netcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    260
    71
    53
    San Jose, California
    You said that after your research, you found out that your device was modified. Do you mean rooted? What indicated to you that your device was modified?

    If you want to upgrade your android version, try downloading Samsung Kies software and installing that to your computer first, THEN connect your phone. Kies will install the drivers that are necessary for your phone to communicate with your computer. You should be able to update your android version from within Kies.

    By the way, according to Samsung, the GT-I9300 does receive 3G and possibly 4G...

    http://www.samsung.com/levant/busin...mobile-devices/smartphone/GT-I9300MBDMID-spec

    The GT-I9300 receives...

    • GSM, HSPA+21 (this is 3G and possibly 4G depending on actual speed)
    • EDGE / GPRS (850 / 900 / 1,800 / 1,900MHZ)
    • HSPA+21 (850 / 900 / 1,900 / 2,100)
    • 802.11 a/b/g/n 2.4GHz / 5GHz
     
  3. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    If your device is rooted...just install a custom ROM. Job Done.

    Not 100% sure what modified means; I always thought it meant rooted? It maybe that someone has rooted the phone and reinstalled the stock firmware.

    Your issue is that you are trying to upgrade and international version of the S3 using an American carrier..never going to happen. That may also explain why you can't get full 3g.

    I'd try and send it back as the international version is no good to you.

    You could try and root it; install a custom international ROM; but you could end up with a brick.
     
  4. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    In Settings>About Device, the status of the device says that it is modified. It should be Normal. In my research, modified means rooted, and I dont get it how it is rooted when I bought it brand new in the original packaging.

    Trying to connect with Kies does not work. Its more complicated than that. I downloaded latest Kies, downloaded latest drivers for Samsung and still nothing. I think i might need to root it but i dont know how.

    By the way I bought it in US but im not currently living there. Im live in Kosovo, so international phone must work for me. I bought the same phone for my brother and his phone is just perfect, not a single issue. Worth to mention that my brothers phone is regular blue, while i bought black edition for myself (i think its limited edition, u guys think it might have to do something with that? )
     
  5. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    You didn't say that!! You may still have an issue trying to update with Kies due to your current carrier not matching the IMEI stored on the phone.

    Do you have an app installed called SU or Superuser?? This would indicate the phone is rooted. To check further try an app like this:

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.joeykrim.rootcheck&hl=en

    If it is rooted then installing a new ROM is pretty straight forward. If it's not then it will need to be rooted first. A fairly easy and painless process.
     
  6. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    I actually do have the superuser!! this means its rooted? Can you please assist me with how to install a ROM? And how am I supposed to install a ROM when my PC doesnt recognize the phone, I wont be able to add the rooting file. If you know anything about this, it would be awesome. I am going to download the app u suggested as well.

    what do you think i should do next? what steps to follow?
     
  7. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    I just downloaded the root checker app and it says : Congratulations! This device has root access!
     
  8. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    OK.....

    Read this for information:

    [HOWTO] Rooting + Wiping + Flashing : For the ultimate noob. - xda-developers

    One more thing to check is that you have a custom recovery installed. If you don't you will need to install this first.

    Press and hold power until you get the shut down menu > press reboot > does it give you an option to reboot into recovery...if it does then boot into recovery...you should have a new menu and one of the options will be install zip. Can you give me the recovery details - name etc?

    If you have no reboot into recovery option from the power menu try this:

    Power the phone off completley > press (in this order) and hold down the UP volume, Home key and power on. It will boot into recovery mode. Do you have options like Install from zip, backup and restore etc or is it just a white screen with some Samsung Info on it and some warnings?
     
  9. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    In google play I searched for custom recovery but a lot of apps appeared so i installed one of them. I didnt have the option of rebooting into recovery so i did it with pressing the keys. Details below:

    CWM-based Recovery v5.5.0.4
    -reboot system now
    -install zip from sdcard
    -wipe data/factory reset
    - wipe cache partition
    -backup and restore
    -mounts and storage
    -advanced
     
  10. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    btw i dont need to root it again right ? I just need to flesh it and install e new ROM? Thats it ?
     
  11. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    That's about it!

    Whatever you have downloaded off google play...please uninstall it, you don't need it.

    What kind of ROM are you after?
    Touchwiz are the Samsung based ROMS or you can go 'pure android' and install a custom ROM?

    First thing I would do is boot back into recovery > select backup and restore > and make a full backup of your phone. This is called a Nandroid backup and is untouched by flashing or wiping data.
    The download off the play store HCK-Tool and run an EFS backup, you only need to do this once but it will save you a lot of grief if you screw up you IMEI!!

    Have a look at this ROM

    [ROM][XXUGNA5|XXEMRG][02Feb] Omega v55|v50.1◄●4.3|4.1.2●►Omega Files|Themes◄● - xda-developers

    Omega is very well supported and stable. make sure you watch the installation video.

    ***Disclaimer***

    Installing custom ROMs can brick your phone; if you are unsure...ask questions first and don't complain later. You do this at your own risk!!

    *********************

    Simply download the latest version to your pc; if it requires a separate Gapps package download that as well.

    Move the zip files to your phone.

    Rebbot into recovery

    Do a wipe / factory reset

    Into Advanced > Wipe Dalvik cache

    Then from the main menu > Install zip > navigate to the ROM and select > follow the installer instuctions

    If you needed Gapps go to Install zip > navigate to the Gapps package and install.

    Reboot the phone > and wait - It can take up to 10 minutes with the first boot.

    This will certainly update your phone; it will update the modem and hopefully get you up and running.
     
    valon090 likes this.
  12. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    Thank you so much for your help. I will try and do it during the weekend since i am at work. If I have any other questions during the weekend i will post them here, if you could check them if i have any I would be really greatfull. Thank you so much again, i hope i will solve my problem this weekend.
     
  13. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    one more question. I would really prefer to just have the official android version, and not customized ROMS. Omega seems to be a customized one, cant i just install the original and latest Android for galaxy s3? If so, where can i find it ?
     
  14. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah you can get the official samsung 4.3 rom from sammobile.com/firmware flashing it will remove root though
     
    valon090 likes this.
  15. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    Well i did not root it , it was already rooted so im ok with it. is it bad if the root gets removed? I think because of the root i cannot update my firmware or connect it to PC. Do you think if I flash it with 4.3 rom and remove ROM that way I can solve my problems?
     
  16. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah it should. Just make sure its the right one for your country/region/carrier and its for the gt-i9300.
    Removing root wont do any harm. Youll just have a normal phone again.
    The problem is that you need the computer to flash it unless someone else knows where to find a flashable zip version?
     
    valon090 likes this.
  17. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    i just had a scary thought..
    Are you sure it isnt a fake s3? A lot of fake phones come pre-rooted.
    If its a fake, flashing a samsung update will probably kill it :(
     
    valon090 likes this.
  18. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    everyone keeps saying how simple and easy it is to root ur phone, lol! Just try findig some easy to do instructions...ha, ha, ha,

    JM
     
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
  20. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    One of the reasons I was directing him to the Omega ROM!

    I have the UK 4.3 Samsung ROM on my Gdrive; I'll provide the link if you want it.

    The official ROM has to be flashed with Odin; where as Omega can be flashed from recovery.

    I'll leave it up to you.
     
    valon090 and funkylogik like this.
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Surely a custom rom for a genuine i9300 will brick a fake phone though mate?
     
    valon090 likes this.
  22. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    Never tried it mate. Thought we would be ok with a custom ROM?

    Might do a quick googley search first.

    OK.....To the OP...

    As Funky has pointed out; you could have a fake phone on your hands; it seems that if you attempt to flash anything you could brick the phone as the system hardware etc will not match the requirements of the ROM; despite what the system info on the phone says. This could explain your 3g issue.

    I'll leave it up to you....if you want to try and flash anything, I would go with Omega.
    TBH; as it could be a fake I would be wary of you having a good backup if the Omega install goes wrong.

    Again up to you....if you want to go ahead then flash Omega via recovery, but I would notch this one up to experience and either live with it or get a new phone.
     
    valon090 and funkylogik like this.
  23. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
    valon090 and funkylogik like this.
  24. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Great find mate :beer:
     
    valon090 likes this.
  25. valon090

    valon090 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Feb 6, 2014
    13
    2
    16
    Thank you guys a lot for your help. I just did the test and this is the result :

    [​IMG]

    So according to this, my phone is not fake ? pheh, such a relief. So now i can go ahead and flash it either with Omega or whatever i like ?
     
    funkylogik likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...