1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Devour won't boot into normal or recovery mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fireup90, May 12, 2011.

  1. fireup90

    fireup90 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I'm stuck on the white screen right now and I can't get it to boot into recovery even when holding R+space+power. Is there anything else I can do? All I did was turn it off and then when i turned it back on this happened.
     

    Advertisement

  2. p_025

    p_025 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    212
    29
    43
    Is it a white screen with the Motorola "M" logo or is it just a blank white screen?
     
  3. fireup90

    fireup90 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    its just the M screen
     
  4. p_025

    p_025 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    212
    29
    43
    Well, that's good, the screen is still working. If the phone won't turn on at all then it's time to take aggressive action. First, try booting into recovery mode one more time.

    Ensure the R and SPACE keys are pressed down firmly, and no other keys are pressed. Then press the power button to turn it on, while holding those keys. If it still doesn't do anything different, then here's something a little more brutal you can do.

    You can flash the Devour's SBF file onto the phone using RSDLite, which is about the same concept as formatting your computer's hard drives and reinstalling a fresh operating system. Use the SBF file CALAND_X_01.15.08P_MONSTER_01.sbf and use the guide provided Using RSD Lite to flash an SBF file -- correctly - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum. That guide is for the Droid, however, but to get your Devour into bootloader mode you take out the battery, hold keys "E" and "R", then plug the USB cable into your phone and computer. (Step 4)

    Please note that if you flash the SBF file you will have to redo all steps to root your phone again if root access is desired.

    If something goes wrong and your phone is permanently bricked, go to a Verizon store and see if they'll just send you a new one. They did for me, even though my phone was rooted and wouldn't start up. Just say you tried to install the over-the-air update and it failed and showed you the blue bootloader screen.

    If you have questions, post back here, I had to use RSDLite and the Devour SBF twice recently.
     
  5. blazen-moto

    blazen-moto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    52
    8
    16

    Hey p025, you know how to change the build.file from 7 to 4? Like they said on the other thread?
     
  6. zrad.zg

    zrad.zg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    62
    1
    16
    CNA
    Illinois


    blazen, you mean to get the Droid X bootstrap to work on the devour?
     
  7. blazen-moto

    blazen-moto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    52
    8
    16
    it does not work...that i know...however, as stated on the other thread, we went into the system folder, the build.prop file, and changed a think form 4 to 7...i want to know how to change it back. and yes...that thread

    thanks
     
  8. zrad.zg

    zrad.zg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    62
    1
    16
    CNA
    Illinois
    if you havent figured it out yet, just go back into whatever app you used to change it, make your system rewritable and click on the file then change it back from 4 to 7
     
  9. blazen-moto

    blazen-moto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    52
    8
    16
    I would but superuser isnt granting permissions anymore.
     
  10. zrad.zg

    zrad.zg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    62
    1
    16
    CNA
    Illinois

    hm, well either you can unroot your phone or flash it back to its original using the SBF, and then manually rooting it
    we dont have a need for the droid x recovery as of yet, so id keep it on your sd card/computer if and when we get a custom rom/update
     
  11. blazen-moto

    blazen-moto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    52
    8
    16
    Thanks.
    I made a list of all my apps and am planning to flash it back to its original "form" using the sbf.

    Three final question, however.

    How do you do this (flash the sbf)
    would doing this completely fix the problem
    and is the sbf you use the "CALAND_X_01.15.08P_MONSTER_01.sbf" file?
     
  12. zrad.zg

    zrad.zg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    62
    1
    16
    CNA
    Illinois
    flashing the sbf-use RSDlite, doesnt matter which version of it though

    and yeah, that file is the one to use
     
  13. blazen-moto

    blazen-moto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    52
    8
    16
    Thanks.
    I'll give it a try.
     
  14. blazen-moto

    blazen-moto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    52
    8
    16
    should i just use the directions already posted on this thread?
    i would assume so, correct?
     
  15. zrad.zg

    zrad.zg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    62
    1
    16
    CNA
    Illinois
    yes sir, go ahead and use those instructions
     
  16. blazen-moto

    blazen-moto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    52
    8
    16
    Just wanted to give everyone the update...it worked!!!
     
  17. zrad.zg

    zrad.zg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    62
    1
    16
    CNA
    Illinois

    did it make your phone a little laggy? cause I had to flash mine back to stock and it seemed to make it laggy and use a lot more battery life than I was using before; this is also after I manually rooted it and took off the bloatware.
     
  18. horyn214

    horyn214 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    when i get everything set up, adblite, i cant choose start
     
  19. fireup90

    fireup90 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    P_025 I'm trying to follow the instructions you gave me, but I'm having some issues with rsd lite not being able to flash the sbf file. Could part of this problem be because I'm using windows 7?
     
  20. fireup90

    fireup90 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Nevermind, I just got a different rsd lite version and it worked! thanks a ton !
     
  21. antique944

    antique944 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013

    Jan 13, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    used rsd lite 6.0, and it worked!
     
  22. macfan9000

    macfan9000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013

    Apr 19, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    RSD Lite will not see my Motorola Devour. Using Windows 8 (and even tried VMWare of Win7), nothing on either. Followed steps to the T.
     

Share This Page

Loading...