1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root DEVs Save End User Headaches Add This to update-script

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by punkmaxx, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    DEVs Save End User Headaches Add This to the beginning of your update-script in your ROM, it clears /cache and Dalvik Cache while telling the user what is happening.

    ui_print("Cleaning and /cache...");
    run_program("/sbin/mount", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p11", "/cache");
    format("ext3", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p11");
    run_program("/sbin/umount", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p11", "/cache");
    ui_print("Cleaning dalvik-cache on /data");
    run_program("/sbin/mount", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8", "/data");
    run_program("/sbin/busybox", "rm", "-rf", "/data/dalvik-cache");
    run_program("/sbin/umount", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8", "/data");
    show_progress(0.500000, 0);
     

    Advertisement

  2. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Yeah lol i learned on the intercept to always have the update script clear the cache and dalvik cache lol!! And at least on the triumph we can wipe data while having the 1%battery mod without bootlooping lol!!!
     
  3. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    When I told you about the bootlooping, you acted like I was crazy because of that bug report. :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...