1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root DHD CM7.1 stops browsing after short time

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fanboynot, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. fanboynot

    fanboynot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    37
    3
    16
    England
    Hi

    Noob here with flashing roms etc, installed CM7.1 on my DHD and everything seemed to work fine. Separate google apps all working, everything fantastic,.

    But after say 10 minutes of browsing either Hsdpa /3G stops working and same with Wi-Fi. All works and downloads pages then just stops downloading data

    Checked all settings within network and wireless that both enabled as always on,

    Only thing that works is a reboot of phone, all cool then data stops downloading,

    Has anybody else encountered this, any workarounds or ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    Try fixing permissions and let me know how you get on at least its something to try while I dig and delve to find a more substantial suggestion. Can be done via ROM Manager or recovery, I suggest doing it via recovery as you'll have to reboot anyway.
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    That was discussed in the LorDmod kernel thread and it's apparently an intermittent issue with CM7.1 (or the default kernel).

    Which kernel are you using? Did you flash LorDmods?
     
  4. fanboynot

    fanboynot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    37
    3
    16
    England
    I'm using LorDmods as I was told that it was more stable ! Thanks for the prompt replies Durx and El Pres

    I thought it was a timer issue that cuts off data to preserve batt life but if you are saying its an intermittent fault with cm7.1 and LordMods then that makes sense. It's a shame as its spoiling an otherwise beautiful experience

    Look forward to any further help please
     
  5. fanboynot

    fanboynot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    37
    3
    16
    England
    DOH. sorry Stublake. Meant to thank you and mentioned Durx. Read do many of his posts must have been engrained on my mind. LOL
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Which version? I think it was fixed in the later versions (I certainly don't notice any issues in 8.6CFS) and I think BFS was more prone to it happening than CFS.
     
  7. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    So kernel change could solve it, if it doesn't would you concur that a change in radio could help?
     
  8. fanboynot

    fanboynot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    37
    3
    16
    England
    I'm using 2.6.35.14. LordModUE8.6 BFS2WCR.

    Would I be ok using rom manager to fix permissions even though I used 4ext instead of cwm. I'm nervous about blowing any of the other settings
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Isn't there a Fix Permissions option in 4EXT?

    Also, try the CFS version of the kernel.
     
  10. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    Yes 4EXT Recovery does have this option so if your using 4EXT don't touch ROM Manager for anything related to recovery operations lol If your running 4EXT I highly recommend purchasing their 4EXT Recovery Control app as it does everything ROM Manager does apart from offer ROMs to download in-app.

    So course of action is as follows: Fix Permissions, if nothing changes, install CFS Kernel, if nothing changes, Fix Permissions, if nothing changes, we're looking at changing your radio or if that bothers you changing ROM lol
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    I will get 4EXT next time I flash something, I'm just sorta busy at the moment and don't really have time to flash anything :eek:
     
  12. fanboynot

    fanboynot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    37
    3
    16
    England
    Guys. Do either of you know or have a link to the latest version of LorDmods kernel. There are 5 different versions of the Cfs on the xda page
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
  14. fanboynot

    fanboynot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    37
    3
    16
    England
    You guys are the dogs bo***cks !! Brilliant support

    Reset permissions and flashed the LordMod CFS build that EP posted.

    All working at the moment, but lets see what happens later.

    Fingers crossed.
     
    SB13X likes this.
  15. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Good to know you're sorted!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...