1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root DHD downgrading before rooting problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by D-U-R-X, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. Bentree

    Bentree Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    60
    5
    36
    Apprentice Machanic
    Cooktown, Australia
    Another suggestion in stead off rebooting into boot loader by holding down the volume key have you tried just entering in the command prompt " adb reboot bootloader ". Since this is how I got mine to come up it might work on your one.

    cheers, Bentree.
    P.S. Stop looking at that hammer :p
     

    Advertisement

  2. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    properly made me LOL!!
     
  3. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I certainly hope so... I've been trying since 20/04 - each time I hit the same problem!

    The tutorial (http://theunlockr.com/2010/03/10/how-to-create-a-goldcard/) took me to a website that sent me a img file and I followed the instructions using HEX editor...

    lol - if I still can't get it to work, I may have to take you up on the offer!!

    Will try again over the weekend and will let you know how I get on!
     
  4. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    That sounds like it'd be worth a try - I'll have a go at this first thing this evening!

    I'll try!!! (",)
     
  5. Bentree

    Bentree Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    60
    5
    36
    Apprentice Machanic
    Cooktown, Australia
    This may silly idea I'm not sure but maybe you could try the method for a Telus desire hd instead. Im clutching at straws but just thought it might work. How To Permanently Root Telus HTC Desire HD < that is the instructions that I followed.
    I can't think of how it could possibly hurt.
    Cheers, Bentree.
     
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Anythin's worth a try Bentree... will try the couple of things you've suggested and let you know!

    Don't think it should make any difference that I'm an Orange UK customer (not a Telus customer), should it? I guess I still have to do the whole goldcard thing, as my phone's branded!
     
  7. Bentree

    Bentree Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    60
    5
    36
    Apprentice Machanic
    Cooktown, Australia
     
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I've just been wondering the same thing about the time where you are... I checked it out on the net - Cooktown is like 10hrs ahead of the us... I live in the UK (in Sheffield) where it's currently 11.23am. I'm in work (just thought I'd have a quick look on here in between replying to customer's!)
     
  9. Bentree

    Bentree Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    60
    5
    36
    Apprentice Machanic
    Cooktown, Australia
    Lol and to think its almost time for me to sleep and yet your at work. Well at least your day is almost half way through.
     
  10. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I know... at least it's Friday and we've both got the weekend to look forward to!
     
  11. Bentree

    Bentree Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    60
    5
    36
    Apprentice Machanic
    Cooktown, Australia
  12. Bentree

    Bentree Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    60
    5
    36
    Apprentice Machanic
    Cooktown, Australia
    OK an update on my idea. I have just tried this method on an Unbranded Desire HD. It worked perfect except for the fact that I still needed to make a goldcard.
    I made the goldcard using the method for a Telus Desire HD ass well. So I can safely say that it works. So I'd say if all else fails try the Telus method.

    Best off luck.
    Cheers, Bentree.
    P.S. I know it's early were you are. so Good morning.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  13. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Well Bentree... full of interesting possibilities, aren't you!!

    I'm just charging my phone now and will give this a try!
     
  14. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    Just a thought..... is it worth downgrading now when GB is rolling out on our phones??
     
  15. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I know what you mean... normally I wouldn't bother, but it's a downgrade to then root my phone... I wanna get rid of the Orange branded bloatware and generally make the phone a little slicker!

    I'm sure that there'll be plenty of custom GB firmware out there soon enough?
     
  16. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Didn't work, I'm afraid... gonna try the Telus DHD method!
     
  17. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    Yea, downgrading to a debranded ROM is what you want then. Although If you get the GB update soon there is a way to root it (think it's called Gingerbreak) and then you can do what you're wanting anyway?

    Just a little glimmer of hope for you if all else fails :)
     
  18. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Grrr... this hasn't worked either!!! This is SO frustrating!!! :mad:
     
  19. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    must be the SD card then.... not all of them work afterall
     
  20. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I certainly hope it's easier to do that than it has been to try and downgrade!!!#

    I'm a little stumped, as I've followed the instructions - I really think that it MUST be down to the SD card I've been using as a goldcard though... think I'll have a go with the SD card that came with the phone!
     
  21. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Was just writing that!!

    Gonna give it a go with the SD card that came with the phone!

    Do you have any idea when GB is rolling out on Orange?
     
  22. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    it's not a definitive date, but i have heard that it could be coming out from the 8th (this ius also when the unbranded folk are gettingt he update again) but it really could be anyday now as Vodafone branded people are getting the update.....

    just remember to back up the contents of your SD card before making the goldcard :)
     
  23. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Fair enough... could be any minute then!!

    Yeah - was just gonna create a folder on the desktop and copy evrything to there!

    Once I've downgraded, I shouldn't need the goldcard any more, so should be able to format the SD card and juts put everything back on the SD card as if I'd not done anything, shouldn't I?

    One more for you - there are no "hidden" files on the SD card are there? I just put it in the card reader and copy everything and that's it, done?
     
  24. poopookakada

    poopookakada Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    323
    45
    63
    Local Radio Presenter
    Swindon, UK
    Should be as simple as that yea :)

    Oh I dunno.... if you set the folder to show hidden files when you look at the SD card folder you'll be able to transfer it all :)

    Pretty sure there is nothing hidden, but that will ensure you get everything :)
     
  25. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Right... before I start again - what Allocation Unit Size should I be using when formatting the SD card to make a goldcard?
     

Share This Page

Loading...