1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Did not unroot before update Please help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bon1380, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. Bon1380

    Bon1380 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,453
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    39
    5
    16
    Male
    I updated my Atrix to 4.1.57 without unrooting. No mods were installed. Only titanium backup. I used superone click to root. Now I'm unable to unroot the phone. What can I do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. razholio

    razholio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    102
    20
    38
    you sure you still have root? the update was reported to unroot your phone for you. just a little extra service from moto. ;)
     
  3. Bon1380

    Bon1380 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,453
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    39
    5
    16
    Male
    Super User is still on the phone, but I can't remove it. When I use Super One Click to remove it, it states "running psneuter."
     
  4. Bon1380

    Bon1380 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,453
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    39
    5
    16
    Male
    How do I remove Super User?
     
  5. iPhail

    iPhail Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    110
    4
    36
    uninstall? lol
     
  6. Bon1380

    Bon1380 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,453
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    39
    5
    16
    Male
    I tried. It won't uninstall.
     
  7. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    Omg i been going crazyyyy all nite cus i did da same thing!!! I updated n da root was gone...but still have superuser and busybix installed. Just got my atrix a week ago. 1st droid fone. Completely clueless on wat to do. I tried the unroot i used with superoneclick but it didnt remove superuser or busybox. Pleaseee heeeelp :(
     
  8. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    I even reset my phone thinking dat would delete superuser n busy box but NOTHING all it did was make me loose all my apps and stuff I had paid for at da AppStore :(
     
  9. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    Theres really no reason to flip about it. Worst case scenario is you have extra apps on your phone which arent being used.

    This happened to me before I got the beta update. The update really sucks at everything and I wish I could roll it back but right now I cant.

    The benefit of not unrooting before the update is that you can still sideload. I am still able to download the apps I want and connect to the Amazon app store.
     
  10. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    but what if i wanna root it again...how would i do that?
     
  11. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    As of right now, if you download the update, then you lose the ability to root.
     
  12. Bon1380

    Bon1380 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,453
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    39
    5
    16
    Male
    I've lost the ability to root, but how do I remove Super User from the phone?
     
  13. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    awww that suuuux. why wont i be able to?? sorry for asking so many questions.. :(
     
  14. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    yeah, at what BON said how do we get rid of superuser and busybox? and ummm is it like with iphones every version has its root? just like every version has its jailbreak for iphone?
     
  15. evilbastard

    evilbastard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    137
    10
    38
    You can do a factory reset, then apply the update if you want. All your apps that you downloaded should still be available when you reconnect to the market, just look under MY Apps.
     
  16. Bon1380

    Bon1380 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,453
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    39
    5
    16
    Male
    Factory reset was done. The phone did not revert to the old version. Version remained 4.1.57.
     
  17. evilbastard

    evilbastard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    137
    10
    38
    The update must then replace the rom that factory reset uses :(. Going to wait until a root is available before I update.
     
  18. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    i did do a factory reset and it automatically updated again to 4.1.57....i logged into da market and when i went under MY APPS there was nothing so i went to check on apps dat i PAID for and was charging me for them AGAIN when i just had bought em a few days ago...dat ticked me off soooo much. spent over 20 dollars on just apps. and now i have to pay for em again? dats some bs. :(
     
  19. islasian

    islasian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    33
    7
    16
    R&D
    Ok, so for all you peeps that was 'rooted' before the update, then just went ahead and updated and now can't get root to work... you will have to SBF to the retail SBF 1.2.6, which, in the link provided, will show you how to do it.. don't grab the 1.5.2, that is a different version, and is NOT the retail version the phone came with... and always remember, if you're rooted, INSTALL Titanium Backup, and do a backup of all your apps so you can just install them after your update, assuming root is back on the device..

    [GUIDE] Flash SBF to Motorola Atrix 4G - xda-developers

    Now, once you braved the SBF process to regain your stock SBF(before the update), reroot you phone with aRoot, and I repeat, DO NOT do any other mods to your phone..
    [SCRIPT] aRoot for Atrix 4G [ root - init.d - sideloading - tethering ] - xda-developers

    Once you have done that, follow these steps on how to retain your root, which will require you to adb into your system to rename the 'su' and move it to a different directory so it doesn't get locked out..follow the steps, you'll be fine...
    [SCRIPT] Root for 4.1.57 (RELEASED!) (requires 4.1.26 rooted) - xda-developers

    If you feel comfy with adb and typing in commands, you can do it this way as recommended by Pirateghost on xda: (this is assuming you have retail SBF and only rooted your Atrix)

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    cp /system/bin/su /osh/sbin/frozenfish
    chmod 06755 /osh/sbin/frozenfish

    run the update

    Code:
    adb shell
    /osh/sbin/frozenfish
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/mmcblk0p12 /system
    cp /osh/sbin/frozenfish /system/bin/su
    chmod 06755 /system/bin/su
    mount -o remount,ro /dev/mmcblk0p12 /system

    Rebooted once for good measure. test with titanium backup and running adb shell, su

    I found this to be alot easier then using the script...

    Hope this helps everyone...
     
  20. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    Damn I wish I knew Chinese cus dats wat it seems to me up there... ^^ :( ^^ Why can't it be easier?! All this complicated mumble jumble driving me crazyyyy!!! ISLASIAN Can I just send u my phone n u do aaaall dat to it?? Seriously.
     
  21. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    So in a month when the new update comes out I won't be able to root it?? (if there's a new root) Unless I Unroot it & remove Superuser & Busybox right now?!!!
     
  22. Nancy940

    Nancy940 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Stay at home mom
    Chicago Il
    Or should I just leave my fone like this and not bother to remove those 2 apps.??
     
  23. islasian

    islasian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    33
    7
    16
    R&D
    When the new update comes out, we won't know till it happens, but most likely, the root will get plugged again, and will have to find another way to get root on it, it was a constant battle with the Droid X, when they were releaseing updates, but it was always rooted in a matter of days...

    Right now, it's best to get root back on your phone, just in case, if you've been rooted before and you use apps that require root, ie. Titanium backup, wi-fi tethering.. I'm only saying this if you think you really need to have root on your phone...

    Leaving those 2 apps on your phone should not do anything to your phone...
     
    Bon1380 and Nancy940 like this.
  24. iPhail

    iPhail Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    110
    4
    36
    Please sell your Atrix and buy an iPhone PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...