1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Did RAM influence on CPU?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by GodLovesYou, Mar 30, 2016.

  1. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    Hey hey guys!

    The title couldn't be the best, but I have some questions to do about what I going through at the moment. Well, I have a laptop with 12GB of RAM and a i5 CPU. Do you think that my CPU is able to support a lot of RAM or it is to much to handle?

    Thank you and have a good day!
     

    Advertisement

  2. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    7,886
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    7,886
    11,546
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    I've got 16GB in my new HP Probook 450.
    Use the Crucial website system scanner, and look at the upgrade possibilities.
     
  3. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,488
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    The maximum amount of RAM is determined by the motherboard, not CPU. You can check how much RAM your laptop can use by checking out the specs on the manufacturers site, or Crucial.com as LV426 mentioned.

    Since it has 12GB chances are it can handle 16GB because the maximum amounts are almost always doubled:

    1GB
    2GB
    4GB
    8GB
    16GB
    32GB
     
  4. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    I already have it, I don't know if CPU(i5) is capable of handle that.
     
  5. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    Ok I understand it. Thanks!!
     
  6. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,145
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Crucial will tell you what your system can handle, it does not leave anything to guess about.
     
  7. lvt

    lvt Android Expert
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013

    Jan 30, 2013
    2,081
    781
    283
    Male
    Paris <--> Taipei
    The CPU can have as much RAM as you want if the motherboard and the Operating System can support that amount of memory.
     

Share This Page

Loading...