1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Did the March OTA/firmware improve anything?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by remanifest, Mar 16, 2013.

?

Did the March OTA/firmware improve anything?

  1. Yes, I have better reception now

    40.9%
  2. Yes, my messaging is faster now

    18.2%
  3. I don't notice anything different

    50.0%
  4. No, it's made things worse! (please tell us about it below)

    9.1%
  1. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    That depends on how you install the 2.95 OTA updates.

    If you flash the firmware zip file it doesn't change the hboot or the ROM so you should be fine keeping what you have for those although a couple of people have gotten boot loops after updating. Those were both with CM 10.1 ROM's installed so I think it's more the ROM than the firmware.

    Flashing the RUU and then taking the OTA's will automatically return both the bootloader (hboot) and ROM to stock so there should be no problem booting once that process is complete, but the hboot will need to be downgraded before flashing and booting a GB or AOSP based ROM.

    ramjet73
     

    Advertisement

    Brian706 likes this.
  2. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    The method itself may be better, but is the end-result any different? Is there anything different afterwards that makes the RUU style better than the .zip style?
     
  3. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Flashing an RUU is always a more complete update that just flashing bits and pieces of firmware although that's essentially what the OTA's are doing.

    If you previously flashed the RUU and then the OTA firmware zips you will probably get better results than someone who has been using radios and other firmware not designed for the Evo V but it's still best to be on the firmware from the November OTA before flashing the most recent update zip file.

    ramjet73
     
  4. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    I seem to get a better data and cell signal. 3g and 4g seem to both last longer. STILL can't get a signal in my office (long running VM issue as EVERY other carrier works in here) but everywhere else I have been the signal has seemed better.
     
  5. wick3d41

    wick3d41 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    15
    2
    16
    I definitely have better reception both 3G and WIFI. Texting is alot faster, hardly ever see it drop to 1X anymore. It just runs alot smoother now.

    I flashed the .zip file.
     
  6. _inKredible_

    _inKredible_ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    96
    17
    18
    CPhT
    Cary, NC

    Where is the flash able .zip ? I'm having trouble finding it. Thanks in advance.
     
  7. ZipLipZ

    ZipLipZ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    My voicemail app stopped working after this. Have to call now to get voicemails.
     
  8. remanifest

    remanifest Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    838
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013

    Jan 13, 2013
    838
    321
    113
    Firmware file courtesy of ramjet73.

    Are you sure this isn't related to your ROM?
     
    _inKredible_ likes this.
  9. youngSWi

    youngSWi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    241
    16
    38
    I'm having the same problem.... I'm s-off and need a flashable zip or pg file... :(

    Sent from my Evo V 4G using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. remanifest

    remanifest Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    838
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013

    Jan 13, 2013
    838
    321
    113
    Look right above your post.
     
  11. ZipLipZ

    ZipLipZ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    I'm just using harmonia. It was working fine before. I may have changed kernals recently now that I think of it...
     
  12. remanifest

    remanifest Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    838
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013

    Jan 13, 2013
    838
    321
    113
    Changing your kernel can have an effect on almost anything regarding your phone. I can confirm that Harmonia's voicemail works fine on the new firmware (used it today).
     
  13. Droidula

    Droidula Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    360
    33
    43
    I flashed the zip earlier today, and have been using my phone all day. I haven't really noticed a difference (yet).
     
  14. chilz

    chilz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    109
    26
    43
    lol i flashed only firmware because im s-off then i told vm i wasnt paying my bill well to make a long story short my phone is inactive once installed the new firware i can get net 3g/4g with no service
     
  15. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    really, you can get 3g/4g with no service? that's incredible. I wish my phone could do that, too.:D
     
  16. chilz

    chilz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012

    Aug 28, 2012
    109
    26
    43
    im assuming it will be discovered at some point in time but until then it works even with 4g in spotty areas its pulling connection
     
  17. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Sounds like the computer hasn't gotten around to fully disabling your account yet. :p
    OB
     
  18. karlyy7x

    karlyy7x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    56
    6
    16
    Female
    Student/Employed
    NYC

    Can we run the RUU if S-Off, and still get the OTA Updates?

    Also, I'm 1.04 ENG and running Midnight J. Should we be on stock ROMs for flashing your zip?

    I'm not sure if I ever even went through with the November OTA... :thinking:
     
  19. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Ruu will restore your bootloader if its an upgrade. I'd do that and take the ota. Then take the next one should you so desire. Then flash your other bootloader and whatever rom you want.
     
    ramjet73 and karlyy7x like this.
  20. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    So has anyone seen any improvements in their signal connection since the addition of connection optimizer? Was wondering if it actually made for a more steady signal or if it causes it to go in and out. I had not installed it in NegaBlue but was wondering if it actually helps at all.
     
  21. ron scubadiver

    ron scubadiver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    354
    56
    53
    I flashed the RUU to recover from a nasty boot loop/soft brick. After that I took the two OTA's, then rooted. Eventually I wound up with Jbear hboot 1.58.58.58 on the theory that it would be closest to stock. The phone was already S-Off. There is nothing unusual about the set up. Bloat is disabled and things that can be replaced from Play deleted. It runs really well, so well that I am inclined to not go back to a custom rom.

    That such a major update was released so late in the product cycle does tend to make one wonder why. The connection optimizer is intended to reduce 3G traffic by offloading to WiFi, but that did not need a 50 MB OTA. There are benefits to HTC having a greater conformity between the 3D and the V 4G as support costs are reduced. However, I think the real reason for the effort is that HTC recently settled a class action lawsuit regarding bugs in the Thunderbolt and they were probably afraid of similar issues with our phones. Likewise, VM and Sprint could have complained they were fielding too many support requests or returns.
     
  22. rodgman15

    rodgman15 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    111
    22
    58
    Male
    Engineering
    North Dakota
    I just recently ran the RUU and took the two OTA's, and my network speeds have reduced drastically. Gave it a few days to settle in and it's at least 50% slower than before. Going to try a few different radios to see if that helps.
     
  23. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    It may be in my head, but it seems like 4G doesn't connect as soon as it is able to. I recall being in 4G a lot...so I figure it scans for signal often, and switches to 4G whenever there's signal.

    Would this be controlled by the firmware?

    I recall in my OG EVO days, I went into the radio settings using those dial codes and my MSL unlock. I was able to change the time between scans as well as the minimum signal required to connect to 4G.

    I've long since forgotten the steps taken to do this. Can someone refresh my memory? Also, I suppose I would have to flash a stock ROM...do you think Negalite's stock ROM would work to get me into the MSL area?
     
  24. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    I'm on Unlocked Potential right now and the stock dialer works, it's ##data# and then select edit and enter your msl. :p
    OB
     
    Palmetto Fellow likes this.
  25. Revenant Ghost

    Revenant Ghost Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,121
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012

    Jun 30, 2012
    2,121
    1,173
    333
    Hell
    You can access EPST with Negalite BluRom. Not sure if any changes you make will stick though.
     
    Palmetto Fellow likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...