1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Different Homes Screens?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mezner, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. mezner

    mezner Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I've had my captivate for about two days and I've been trying to find any good home alternatives that seem to work for the phone. Any one have any suggestions?

    Suggested in thread:
    - ADW.Launcher (free)
    - LauncherPro (free)
    - Home Switcher (free)
     

    Advertisement

  2. LukeOlson

    LukeOlson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    201
    27
    43
    Software Engineer
    I've always like ADW.Launcher. You can customize a bunch of stuff. It's pretty cool.
     
  3. Dennis_Bham

    Dennis_Bham Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    156
    21
    38
    Lab Rat
    Alabama
    Install Home Switcher from the market, then grab ADW.Launcher and LauncherPro (free) and have at it. I prefer ADW.Launcher myself ...
     
  4. tcv

    tcv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    159
    11
    38
    NJ
    I also use ADW Launcher. No lag at all and it looks very nice.
     
  5. mezner

    mezner Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the quick suggestions guys! I've put your responses up in the OP in case someone else has similar questions. I'll continue to do so if I get anything different.
     
  6. liquidpilgrim

    liquidpilgrim Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Yeah I agree you try ADW.Launcher.. It's better, looks great, and user-friendly.. :)
     
  7. spector711

    spector711 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Is there a way to add more than 3 items to the bar at the bottom of ADW? ADW seems a bit nice than launcher pro (I hate the vertical app listing) but I'd like to have 4-5 items on the quick-nav bar on the bottom rather than just 3. Am I missing something?
     
  8. Ogami Itto

    Ogami Itto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    32
    4
    36
    Under UI settings enable Secondary ActionButtons option.
     
  9. Ductapemaster

    Ductapemaster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    Engineering Intern
    Orange County/Isla Vista
    I'll put in a vote for Launcher Pro. I've only used ADW for a little while, so I just got used to LP and I'm too lazy to change. Both are great though.
     
  10. spector711

    spector711 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    That option is grayed out and I am unable to check it. Must I enable some other feature first?
     
  11. Ogami Itto

    Ogami Itto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    32
    4
    36
    Sorry, yeah you have to disable Desktop Dots, which is the first option under UI settings.
     
    spector711 likes this.
  12. jesterkiller

    jesterkiller Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    both launcher pro and adw are great. i prefer launcher pro though
     
  13. spector711

    spector711 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Oh man, that rocks so hard -- thank you.

    Now I have 5 home buttons + up and down swipe actions. Absolutely epic.
     
  14. LukeOlson

    LukeOlson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    201
    27
    43
    Software Engineer
    Now, I've finally given LauncherPro a decent chance, and I really like it too. A really nice feature is being able to hide AT&T bloatware from the launch drawer. Another feature I really like is being able to have different shortcuts when you swipe a dock-bar item, rather than tap it.

    In my dock-bar I have my phone, messaging, application drawer, Gmail, and Google voice. When I swipe my phone icon, it automatically calls my wife. When I swipe my messaging icon, it brings up the new text message dialog with my wife as the recipient. When I swipe the app drawer icon, it brings up my notifications. When I swipe my Gmail icon, it brings up my work email. When I swipe my Google voice icon, it toggles between always using Google voice vs. never, etc.

    Also, you can have multiple dock-bars, which is nice.

    The developer is seemingly always updating the app.
     
  15. ed0810

    ed0810 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Newb question, but is there an easy way to transfer all my icons/shortcuts to LauncherPro after moving to it from the stock launcher?

    Thanks.
     
  16. LukeOlson

    LukeOlson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    201
    27
    43
    Software Engineer
    Not that I've found. Sorry!
     
  17. Brucem9999

    Brucem9999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Both apps have a BU and Restore feature. You might want to check out how each will work for you. I had to replace my Droid X twice. I spent days getting my home screens the way I wanted them, then I had to redo everything when the Droids died because I didn't know about the backup capabilities in these two apps. I was using HelixLauncher, which doesn't have the BU capabilities.
     
  18. qwertyaas

    qwertyaas Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    373
    20
    38
    Do you have to be rooted to change home screens/themes?
     
  19. linuxdood

    linuxdood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    110
    3
    36
    No root needed. Installs like any other application from the Market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...