1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dimming

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by airtrons, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. airtrons

    airtrons Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    I have a Droid X, and the dimming functions as it would expect it: the slider adjust the brightness and enabling Auto allows automatic adjustment about the manually set slider.

    On the Xoom, I can manually set the slider but when selecting the Auto, auto the Xoom will revert to something much dimmer; either within maybe 10-15 seconds or after a power cycle.

    Anybody else has issues with dimming? Anything else than Auto driving the dimming?
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,405
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,405
    4,102
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    hi,

    im not following what your asking...

    auto dim takes into account your surroundings and adjusts according to those. it sounds like its doing what its supposed to be doing?? :thinking:
     
  3. airtrons

    airtrons Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    @marctronixx: the Droid X adjusts the dimming using the manually setting as a reference point. ie, if I want a 'bright' auto or a 'dim' auto, I can have it. It's biasing the dimming curve so to speak.


    On my Xoom, in a dimly lit room, if I select auto i get a really dim screen. Now, deselect auto, and adjust to something fairly bright (more than half), re-select auto, wait about 15-20 second or turn the display on/off. What happens yours when you do that?
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  4. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,405
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,405
    4,102
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    lol i love swift key on the tab.. but i digress.. ;-)

    i did per your instructions and once i entered the auto feature i backed out to the home screen. i then turned off the unit and turned it back on and it went back to the auto adjustment i was before. in this regard its working as it should on the unit i have.

    worth note: i have always had the unit on auto since launch day (i have the 3G model) and the auto brightness levels have been just fine with me. perhaps its working properly on your unit but the auto setting in your environments are just too low for your taste?
     
  5. airtrons

    airtrons Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    Well if that's the case, it's very sad. I like the way the X works.

    It may be just me, but it's really too dim in a darker room. I sense and opportunity for a smart dimmer :D
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  6. NCTurner

    NCTurner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    395
    368
    88
    NC
    I agree airtrons. I think the auto setting for me is just a bit too dim. I do wish we could calibrate where "auto" is.
     
  7. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    I remember reading about an app on the X that had a 'smart' auto. If I can find it, perhaps it will work with the Xoom as well.
     
  8. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    There are a few: Dimmer Lite, Smart Dimmer, and Brightness Level. Keep us posted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...