1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root dirty flash?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by d4rk13l4de, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. d4rk13l4de

    d4rk13l4de Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    39
    20
    18
    Male
    What exactly does this mean? I have searched but have found anything. I'm looking at updating meanrom to 3.9
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It means wiping only dalvik cache and cache when flashing an updated version of the same ROM you are currently on.

    You won't lose any settings or data
     
    wanerza77, Tito23p, 3vodroid and 3 others like this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ummmm ok i was thinking of something else. LOL:eek::D
     
    3vodroid likes this.
  4. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    Last flash remark i made was deleted by a red guy :( it was funny though
     
    3vodroid likes this.
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I read it and tried to like it post delete but it wouldn't let me :(:p
     
  6. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I had flashed the new clean rom and was running it. I got a little exuberant cleaning it and started getting some fc's.

    Another prob I had was that open signal maps app would not work, found out I need to have all the google location stuff on for it though.

    anyway, I restored a nand of it but it was apparently made after i messed it up. or maybe it was before I figured out about the open signal thing, but, point is, I figured I would dirty flash it and fix what I had messed up but keep my set up.

    No go, I hadn't wiped anything, but when I was through flashing, it was all new again, nothing saved.

    Quite the opposite of my experience with the Mean iterations.
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Some devs have it in the rom updater script to automatically wipe everything when you flash it.

    Easy enough to undo their additions. I wrote a tutorial for it on the OG for MikG
     
  8. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    you need to change the updater script to do a dirty flash with those roms that automatically clean /data and /system files. the /data is the important one. Its ok to delete the /system partition as it will be re-written. I remember Rx having to do that for the Mik G rom for a customer ;) I didn't remember the guide he wrote though :eek: Dirty flashing is best left to those who are advanced enough to know what they are doing. its really not for the faint of heart. As always you should have a Good Nandroid you can go back to for when the dirty flash does not do what was expected or wanted.
     
  9. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    Or you can just do a backup with twrp and then after the flash restore just the data section. That's basically the same thing as a dirty flash.
     
    dustwun77 and argedion like this.
  10. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    true but doesnt it defeat the purpose besides its more fun to edit the ROM :D
     
    ovrrdrive likes this.
  11. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    I can't argue with that at all... :)

    This seems to be the latest craze over at XDA for some reason. I guess the peeps over there think they're getting a clean install doing it that way. I asked if they knew it was the same thing as a dirty flash but only one person even acknowledged my post. Oh well, as always do whatever gives you a warm and fuzzy. lol
     
    ocnbrze, Rxpert83 and argedion like this.
  12. CYNICALifornia

    CYNICALifornia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    303
    159
    68
    Male
    Special Ed
    Palmdale, Ca
    I just do some very selective system data restoration with TB. That way I get a clean install and keep my settings.

    The full system data restore never seems to end well for me though, so which is why I only restore a few things.
     
  13. syi

    syi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    587
    58
    98
    Male
    I dont do shit
    oregon
    Will this save apps?
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yes, dirty flashing prevents any data loss.

    It's only for rom updates though not going from one ROM to the next
     
  15. syi

    syi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    587
    58
    98
    Male
    I dont do shit
    oregon
    Well I don't want to tamper with the recovery or anything. And now Google play remembers your last installed apps and installs them on start
     
  16. CYNICALifornia

    CYNICALifornia Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    303
    159
    68
    Male
    Special Ed
    Palmdale, Ca
    If you use Titanium you can restore the app and the app's data (saved games, and login info, ie)
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  17. syi

    syi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    587
    58
    98
    Male
    I dont do shit
    oregon
    Going to try this dirty flash here in a bit. Backed up all my apps just in case though.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  18. syi

    syi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    587
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    587
    58
    98
    Male
    I dont do shit
    oregon
    Worked like a charm!
     
    dustwun77, Rxpert83 and Granite1 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...