1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Dirty Unicorns 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ramjet73, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    I finally saw the breathing missed call notification but it locked my notification bar up also it wouldnt scroll down. As much potential as this ROM has, JB just isnt right for our phones. Especially with all the new service issues
     

    Advertisement

  2. montenell

    montenell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    155
    6
    36
    Can't get MMS to work on latest one using the MMS fix. On my nandroid with 1.5 I have no issue bet 1.8 won't play fair
     
  3. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    I love the icons change in V1.9. Really cool look!!!
     
  4. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    Ramjet73 or any expert on roms:

    Regarding latest Dirty Unicorns v1.9. I've been using Rom Toolbox pro to modify the status bar and changing the Wi-Fi and signal bar colors from the blue color default. It has worked great since started on V1.7, but this last version v1.9, it follows the same steps and reboots my htc evo v. But won't change the colors now. It will let me change boot animation with rom toolbox pro, but now won't change the colors of Wi-Fi and signal bars. Like a different look and color change from the standard. No problems changing battery or clock in the status bar. Any suggestions or tips. Is there a setting need to modify now to allow this color change for example. I restored v1.8 and works fine to modify these two items in the status bar. So assume it was a change in v1.9.

    Thanks, Steve
     
  5. justbenny2k

    justbenny2k Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012

    Aug 3, 2012
    109
    8
    36
    Male
    Savannah, GA
    I updated to 1.9 and Apollo is still force closing on me. I also noticed some flickering. Is there anyway to resolve this?
     
  6. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    About to flash 1.9.1 for VM. I know I need to flash the 10.1 MMS VVM fix. Do I need the gpsfix, video recording fix as well?
     
  7. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land
    From what I've read about this problem the easiest way to resolve this is to flash a different sound mod like Awesome Beats v5 (recommended by Ramjet I believe) or try one of the newer Acid Mods, I believe v13 just got released.
     
  8. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land
    Build prop is set for Sprint info such after flashing MMS open APNs and select Sprint is the quickest, easiest way for MMS to work IMO. gps works fine for me without the fix and I haven't tried the video recording on this version but I was pretty sure it got worked out by now but who knows you may be the unlucky one.

    PS. Loving the new Mac Kernal with this ROM!!!
     
  9. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    I'm liking the new rom and new look and feel. This rom feels very very smooth. The smoothest one of the roms yet!

    I haven't tested it much but I love the new icons and new feel. ;)
     
  10. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    I've seen the Torch.apk and the Torch2.apk in the rom but after flash Torch isn't installed.

    I tried deleting the smaller Torch.apk and then flash again and still no Torch installed.

    Anyone else have this problem on 1.9.1?
     
  11. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I tried this just for fun. I didn't get past putting in my user/pass for my Google Account due to poor touch screen calibration. Is this an issue with the ROM?
     
  12. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land

    I've never had that problem with any version before but Pac Rom is a different story
     
  13. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Never has been for me and I've flashed almost every version.

    You might try turning off PIE if you haven't done that already. I usually just minimize the trigger area.

    ramjet73
     
  14. rodgman15

    rodgman15 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    111
    22
    58
    Male
    Engineering
    North Dakota
    Loved this ROM when I used it, but just recently switched over to Angry Bean and i'm pretty sold, but does anyone know if MMS/VVM fix works on this ROM with no 9016 texts? I'd kill for the extra features, and I see MAC kernel has been integrated, but MMS and VVM are pretty big for me personally.
     
  15. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    Should work. I flashed it yesterday and applied the MMS/VVM fix. No problems so far and this rom flies. PAC's been my go to rom for Jelly 4.2 but I think I'm falling in love with this SexyDirtyUnicorn hehe :car:
     
    rodgman15 likes this.
  16. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    BTW this ROM does have sweep to wake and overclocking in the kernel without breaking Bluetooth.
     
  17. Chicoman

    Chicoman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    177
    45
    43
    Male
    La La Land

    Angry Bean is a solid ROM but if you wanted to try this one I haven't had any issues after applying the VM and Mms fixes so don't think you should have any if set it up correctly.
     
  18. rodgman15

    rodgman15 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    111
    22
    58
    Male
    Engineering
    North Dakota
    I've run a few different past versions of DU, but after getting mms/vvm on angry bean (love this ROM btw :D) i've been pretty happy and wasn't sure if the fixes would work on DU. Now that i've had confirmed sources say they do, I may just have to switch back :)
     
  19. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    Google voice search isn't working on this rom (force closes) unless update through the Play Store.

    Is video recording work on this rom by default or do we need to do a fix?
     
    generek likes this.
  20. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    Searched with Google voice search with no issues. Video camera also records. Does have some of the tearing first time we have seen on other ROMs.
     
  21. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    Hmm wierd cause google search doesn't work for me unless I update it through the Play Store. Everytime I hit the search button and say "google" it force closes...
     
  22. montenell

    montenell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    155
    6
    36
    I have no ringtones. Phone doesn't ring when people call!
     
  23. LakersDroid

    LakersDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    810
    130
    93
    Male
    Orange, CA
    I think it's a glitch with this rom. Last time I flashed it my ringtones and notification was set to none by default. Had to change it in settings.
     
  24. V3n0m90

    V3n0m90 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012

    Jun 26, 2012
    53
    1
    16
    Male
    Professional Food Builder
    Binghamton NY
    Flashed the MMS fix. DO I need to add lines to the build.prop? If so which ones becuase I have seen people post to different things.

    ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311490
    ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile US
    gsm.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile US
    gsm.operator.numeric=311490

    ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310120
    ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Sprint

    I'm guessing I need to add the sprint one?
     
  25. V3n0m90

    V3n0m90 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012

    Jun 26, 2012
    53
    1
    16
    Male
    Professional Food Builder
    Binghamton NY
    The only ringtones that showed up for me were the few that I had downloaded before. Nothing else came default in the rom.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...