1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Disable Camera Sounds?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dr. Dank, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    Is there any way to completely shut off the camera and camcorder sounds?? BTW, I HAVE deleted the system/media/audio sounds that had the name camera or camcorder in them...

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    Just delete the sound from /system/media/audio/ui
    Its called cameraclick.ogg
     
  3. Ostrich Egg

    Ostrich Egg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    31
    7
    36
    Deleting the file from /system/media/audio/ui won't work. The HTC camera app uses its own internal audio files. Here is how to remove them:

    Back up an original unmodified copy of /system/app/HTCCamera.apk for safe keeping
    Open HTCCamera.apk in your favorite archive program as a .zip
    Remove /res/raw/camera_click.ogg and any other sounds you don't want (I removed them all)
    Replace the original /system/app/HTCCamera.apk with your modified file
    Change the permissions to rw-r--r--
    Clear Dalvik cache and reboot.
     
    sabresfan likes this.
  4. kake2k

    kake2k Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    52
    7
    16
    edit::: Ostrich Egg beat me, but will leave this here because maybe it's helpful.


    This is how you do it (need to have root):

    1) Connect device to computer with USB debugging

    2) open command prompt / terminal and go to sdk folder

    Type at the command line: "adb pull /system/app/HTCCamera.apk"

    This should download the camera app from your phone to your computer.

    3) Look in the folder on your computer for HTCCamera.apk

    4) Make a copy of this file as a backup.

    5) Rename the original file to HTCCamera.apk.zip and Open the APK file in archiving program (such as Winrar)

    6) Inside the zip file, find the sounds at /res/raw/ and delete the sounds you don't want (they are OGG files) you can delete all of them.

    Note: this might not matter but to be safe (this is what I did) make sure if you delete all of them the empty "raw" folder is still in the archive. If you are using winrar it deletes the empty folder and you need to navigate back to /res/ , right click and do "create new folder".

    7) After you deleted the files from the zip, rename HTCCamera.apk.zip back to HTCCamera.apk

    8) At the command prompt again, transfer the file to your phone's Sdcard by typing: "adb push HTCCamera.apk /sdcard/HTCCamera.apk"

    9) Enter the adb shell by typing "adb shell"

    Type the following at the adb shell (not the $ or # part, just the commands):
    $ su
    # mount -o remount,rw /dev/null /system
    # rm /system/app/HTCCamera.apk
    # cp /sdcard/HTCCamera.apk /system/app/HTCCamera.apk
    # mount -o remount,ro /dev/null /system
    # rm /sdcard/HTCCamera.apk
    # reboot


    When the phone is rebooted, you might need to make shortcuts to the camera app again (old shortcuts might be missing)

    Now there should be no sound. good luck.
     
    tmandmc, pcorlatan and sabresfan like this.
  5. Subzer0

    Subzer0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    300
    49
    63
    Male
    McCormick, SC
    I just deleted the cameraclick.ogg and mine is gone. Maybe it's because i'm using JMZ's shooter rom.
     
  6. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    I'm on a mac... help. your commands don't work. i don't know sh*t about the terminal...
     
  7. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    ok... tried this all on my phone... hope it works. rebooting now:smokingsomb:
     
  8. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    yay.... NO CAMERA APP... idk what you mean by open it as a .zip.. theres no option to.. just extract all (which i did) and CREATE a zip... not open as one.. I'm using root explorer. ill mess around and see what i can get i guess...
     
  9. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    yeah... i can't figure out how to 'open as a zip'... please help. thanks

    please explain it to me as if I were a 2 year old...
     
  10. Ostrich Egg

    Ostrich Egg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    31
    7
    36
    The easiest way is to copy it to your desktop, rename it to HTCCamera.apk.zip, open it in an archive program, remove the files, and then rename it back to HTCCamera.apk and put it back in /system/app
     
  11. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    When i connect to my computer it doesn't show the system folder even...
     
  12. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
  13. startak11

    startak11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    88
    9
    16
    I'm lost too....can't get the internal evo v storage to show - only the sdcard under my computer and so I can't edit the apk
     
  14. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    EXACT problem I'm having.... hope ostrich gets on here
     
  15. swerver32

    swerver32 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    345
    66
    53
    Seattle
    Connecting to your computer is usually to access your sd card. To see the phone's internal memory contents, use an app like es file explorer. Don't forget to go in the settings and check root explorer and mount file system.
     
  16. haro138

    haro138 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    179
    28
    43
    Okay so anyone with more knowledge than me correct me if I'm wrong but if your are rooted you could probably use root explorer to get a copy of camera.apk. Make a copy on your computer and keep the original for safety. Then on the one you are going to modify remove the file you need to with 7-ZIP then replace the one on the phone with the modified one.

    7-ZIP lets you look within the apk without decompressing it if I'm not mistaken.
     
  17. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    How is it that you'd be able to get the fire from the sd card to the computer? I have the apk cord to the sd via root explorer. Now getting it onto the computer...? Use 7-zip for sure? It won't show just exploring the sd from the computer as it is..
     
  18. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA
    You have to copy the HtcCamera.apk from the System to your SD Card first then you can get it from your Phone
     
  19. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    Thank you. Then how do I go about editing it on a mac? Will the app iZip work?
     
  20. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    iZip doesn't seem to work... and 7zip is for windows... :(
     
  21. startak11

    startak11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    88
    9
    16
    It's removed automatically in the Mobster rom.
     
  22. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    I'm waiting for that rom to get completely stable.. I was hoping for an answer..:congrats:
     
  23. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Slightly off topic, there's an app on the market called notepad that's made for taking surreptitious photos. It's called notepad to even hide it's existence on the phone. :)
     
  24. Dr. Dank

    Dr. Dank Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    170
    2
    36
    Student
    any answers yet...
     
  25. qu4ttro

    qu4ttro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    170
    31
    43
    Jacksonville FL
    I used WinRAR and it worked fine... Do they have that for Mac?

    I'd be happy to upload the camera apk with the shutter sound removed, just not sure if it's kosher or if I'll run afoul of HTC's copyright...?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...