1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Disable Lock Screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lwb250, Mar 26, 2012.

  1. lwb250

    lwb250 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    OK, I was playing around and set up the lock screen on my TP. While this could potentially be a nice feature, I decided it was more cumbersome than helpful.

    Despite going through the security menu and seeing the settings for disabling the lock screen, which are grayed out, I simply can't find a way to disable it.

    Am I just missing something?

    Dan
     

    Advertisement

  2. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Can you change screen lock to none? The top option?
     
  3. lwb250

    lwb250 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    It's greyed out for some reason.

    Dan
     
  4. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    What build are you using and was it greyed out on previous builds? Running any ROM's that may cause that?
     
  5. lwb250

    lwb250 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    CM9 tenderloin nightly 03262012. Other than that, nothing else I can think of that would affect it.

    Any other suggestions? I'm all ears...

    Thanks!

    Dan
     
  6. lwb250

    lwb250 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    As I look at this with a little more clarity, I think I may have some information that could give some direction on how I might be able to sort this out:

    In the area next to "None" in the Settings Lock Screen menu, it says, "Disabled by administrator, encryption policy, or credential storage."

    I am running the following applications that I suspect may be the culprit:

    System Tuner
    Super user

    I have gone through both looking for a setting or other information that might reveal what has disabled this setting, but nothing jumps out at me.

    Again, any suggestions?

    I did restore from a backup made prior to invoking this setting, along with wiping the Dalvik cache. No joy. I am wondering if I should do a complete restore to factory defaults and then restore my backup.

    Dan
     
  7. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    I'm at work right now so I can't look at my TP, but check settings > Location and Security > Device Administration > Select device administrators.

    See if a program has admin rights and if so uncheck it.

    I'm looking at this in my GB phone so it may be a little different in CM9.
     
    lwb250 likes this.
  8. lwb250

    lwb250 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    I looked at that previously and it is greyed out and shows no device administrators. When I saw this I attempted to add one but it wouldn't allow me to.

    I would add that I am a net admin with a working knowledge of permissions and rights relative to a Windows environment, so this is not unfamiliar territory for me. I'm just not familiar with Android....

    Thanks!

    Dan
     
  9. lwb250

    lwb250 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Figured it out.

    I went into "Profiles" and looked at the settings. In the profile settings at the bottom is an entry for "System settings -Lock screen mode". You can choose several settings, one of which is disable.

    Once I applied it, no more lock screen!

    Again, thank to those who made suggestions!

    Dan
     
  10. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    You're way ahead of me then. :D

    Glad you got it fixed.
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I was just getting ready to power mine up.... :D
     
  12. kolonelpeteruk

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 18, 2012

    May 18, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Where is the "Profile" setting? I cant found mine.. My ROM was default 2.3.4..
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Everything is in settings. Look for security and lock screen. (sorry, from memory).
     
  14. admit

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    26
    2
    16
    Message originally posted
     
  15. Nagareboshi

    Nagareboshi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012

    Jul 5, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi Dan,

    I'm stuck with exactly the same problem. Where is this "Profiles" that you've used to solve it? I've looked for it on my phone but I can't find it.

    Thx
     
  16. bbarend

    bbarend Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012

    Jul 5, 2012
    1
    1
    6
    I was able to clear it by going to "Security" then "clear credentials".
     
    tsrr likes this.
  17. Nagareboshi

    Nagareboshi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012

    Jul 5, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks, this did help :)
     
  18. CharlesR24

    CharlesR24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    1
    2
    6
    I had this exact problem, which turned out to be the result of a VPN profile I had set up (though I was never actively using it). Deleting all VPN profiles made all the screen lock choices visible again.
     
    buntoo and barqer like this.
  19. endroad

    endroad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Dear Charles,
    I deleted all VPN profiles. This is a very useful for me.
    Thanks.. Thanks.. Thanks
     
  20. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    A lot of business email wifi accounts will do this, too. Anything that has an encryption certificate that permanently resides in your phone will cause the problem.

    You can delete the VPN accounts or email accounts, but that only works if you don't need the VPN or email account. If you need those things, you have to fix it some other way.

    If you are rooted, I found this tutorial to bypass it:
    [TUT][ICS] bypass Credential Storage phone lock / install certificates
     
  21. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Good to know!
     
  22. buntoo

    buntoo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you so much. Yesterday I wanted to remove the pattern lock to swipe on my Galaxy S2. But the first three options (none,swipe & facelock) were greyed. (saying its disabled by device administrator.) Never happend that before.

    Luckily i found your post. Deleted the vpn profiles I'd created a few days ago. And voila!... All the options are available now.

    Thank you so much. :)

    regards,
    buntoo
     
  23. vankaye

    vankaye Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012

    Oct 26, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I had this all buggered up with a m.google.com exchange set up with the the sammy email app checking my google apps email account. Fortunately, I am the google apps admin for my company so I could change the settings in google apps.

    But, then after much trouble playing with screenlock setting, I discovered that I must decrypt the SD card to release the credentials...
    So, if all else fails check the SD card and see if its encrypted. Worked for me.
     
  24. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I've said it before and I'll say it again.... I've never seen android encryption mentioned without someone being unhappy. :D
     
  25. Nevertells

    Nevertells Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    198
    43
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    I've said this before and I'll say it again, make a freakin' backup and when things go wrong, just restore the backup and all is well again.:D

    It should be a no brainer.:thinking:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...