1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Disable Voice but not 3G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by keyneom, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. keyneom

    keyneom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Does anyone know how or even if it is possible to disable the regular voice signal but leave the 3g enabled? I didn't think it would be such an uncommon question but I couldn't find anything for this in my google searching.

    Thanks for any help you can provide! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. hate

    hate Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    260
    51
    53
    Male
    Hawaii
    not possible. the closest to what you're asking is putting your phone into airplane mode and turn on only wi-fi
     
  3. MrPeter1985

    MrPeter1985 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    144
    50
    53
    IT Specialist/Consultant and Webdesigner
    Jeffersonville, IN
    why you want to disable voice? is calls messing your surfing up or something?

    then just go to settings>call settings and turn on DDTM. it will put calls to VM when you have an active 3G connection.
     
  4. keyneom

    keyneom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Actually it's because I would like to make my calls over 3g and save my battery the expense of trying to maintain the voice signal. Makes a lot of sense to me since I think the call quality is better over 3g than with Boost's voice network.
     
  5. MrPeter1985

    MrPeter1985 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    144
    50
    53
    IT Specialist/Consultant and Webdesigner
    Jeffersonville, IN
    well without a cell signal you wont have a great 3G signal.

    If I have 1 tiny bar 3G crawls.

    So disabling the Cell signal would actually disable your 3G signal too. But if your actually talking about Wifi and not 3G then what hate said is best. Turn on airplane mode, it will turn off the wifi but your able to turn it back on.
     
  6. keyneom

    keyneom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    Nope I meant the cell signal. You would think that if I had bad voice quality off the cell signal I would get just as bad or worse over 3g, but nonetheless it still seems to work better for me. Anyways that's sad to know, but thanks for the info.
     
  7. andy21

    andy21 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I would like to disable voice but not 3G. Here's why.

    Verizon doesn't allow simultaneous voice and data. I thought I could get around this by using a third party app like Google Voice. However, I see that a new change to Google Voice is "Does not require data connectivity for making calls to all numbers you previously called". So my thought is, if I forcibly disable voice maybe it will use my data connection. I *want* it to use my data connection, that is my use for it!

    I would like simultaneous voice and data because I frequently talk on the phone while traveling, but this inhibits the data connection, which means my GPS position reports can't be updated on my server which means anybody I'm interested in sharing my position with can't see the latest position if I'm on the phone. Ridiculous!

    There are other good reasons too... anything where you want to send data over 3G and don't want a phone call wrecking things.
     
  8. alvin129

    alvin129 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Have you tried Groove IP?? I use it at home with WiFi (I get zero bars with Boost Mobile at home). I forward my Boost calls to my Google Voice number before I get home. Then I can recieve calls fine while at home. I disable forwarding when I leave home. It works perfect on WiFi. I have also used it on 3G and it works very good, but sometimes you get an echo if you don't have a strong enough 3g signal. Hope this helps.
     
  9. dngirish

    dngirish Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Hi there, I use skype and webex on my tab for official calls and meetings online. During which if I receive voice calls, the online meeting calls get disconnected. Hence it would be good if I can disable and enable voice. Please suggest any app that can disable voice alone.
     
  10. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Titanium backup can 'freeze' the app until you need it. this will do what you need. When you want to use it again, just 'defrost' it
     
  11. dngirish

    dngirish Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    It needs the tab to be rooted. Any other way?
     
  12. MrPeter1985

    MrPeter1985 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    144
    50
    53
    IT Specialist/Consultant and Webdesigner
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Oh DUDE, I just remembered something. Go to Settings>Call Settings> Check DDTM.

    Its suppose to send calls to voicemail when you have a live DATA connection.

    Cheers. Let us know if it works.
     
  13. dngirish

    dngirish Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for the suggestion. But DDTM is unavailable on ics. It was available on my honeycomb. But I read here that its an hidden option in ics. Any idea how to uniden this option in Samsung tabs.
    or even for this, the device needs to be rooted?

    "DO NOT DISTURB" / ICS stay connected - PPCGeeks
     
  14. dngirish

    dngirish Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Ok I think I figured it out. Open call settings in phone app and call barring in advanced setting. Enter 0000 as the password activated "bar all incoming calls". So the caller would hear only busy ring on calling. I can continue using data connection without interruption. Also I can make calls and send sms. I am yet to check if my internet call disconnect on receiving sms as well. Will keep posted. This is a pretty straight forward thing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...