1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Disabling Browser and/or market?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by PortNerd, Dec 22, 2012.

  1. PortNerd

    PortNerd Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012

    Nov 13, 2012
    29
    0
    15
    I'm setting up some tablets for children, and while I'd like to keep their wi-fi on so that I can swap out some of their files automatically via dropbox, I'd like to keep them the kids from being able to surf the internet or install new apps on them.

    I can root the devices. Could I just use Titanium Backup to uninstall the browser and the android market app, and then use TB to restore them in the future if needed? Would I be risking breaking things if I tried that?
     

    Advertisement

  2. badblue1

    badblue1 * TRUCKS ARE BEAUTIFUL *
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1,094
    375
    163
    Male
    truck driver
    ~ the "burgh" ~
    Unfortunately, i think if you try and restore a system app with TB you can end up with a brick!

    But i think you could freeze the browser and market, then you could always defrost them later for use.

    I'm not real sure on this ,so maybe wait and see if someone more experienced has a solution.

    GOOD LUCK
     
  3. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,196
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,196
    2,472
    443
    Browser and Market can be frozen on rooted phone. Some things don't seem to work right, but if you get the apps from elsewhere like Amazon, they should work.

    Some clones came without market access and had a different app store. Amazon and Androidpit seem to work.

    I've got the browser frozen in my rooted phone, I use Boat. I've frozen Play at times with no bad results -
     
    badblue1 likes this.
  4. nickdalzell

    nickdalzell Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    4,849
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    4,849
    873
    243
    Owensboro, KY
    I saw a disable button for the market under settings-->apps in ICS, right beside the force stop button
     

Share This Page

Loading...