1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Disappointed in Sprints speeds in your area?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by pjstar32, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. pfoneguy

    pfoneguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013

    Mar 30, 2013
    95
    12
    18
    Male
    @ jmatherly411 you appear to have a lot of answers in response to criticism of Sprint Network Vision. Let me preface my post by pointing out that my service went in the toilet in March of this year and has not returned, I had clear voice service and an at least usable but still pathetic 1 Mbps 3G (1.5 if the wind happened to be blowing in the right direction that day).
    So, maybe you could explain why my city (93905) was officially listed as an LTE market 3+ months ago and where I have a tower 2 miles N.W. and a tower .5 mi S.W. both sporting 4G LTE in a flat suburban area, where not only can I not get 4G LTE at my residence I get a pathetic .35 Mbps down 3G (.5 Mbps at its best) and garbled voice service? If I travel two blocks S.W. I get a pathetic 1Mbps 4G LTE( 2 at its best), that is less than a 1/2 mile from the tower and I can walk up and down the street an lose connectivity. If I am within a 1 mi radius from the tower that is 2 mi N.W. of my residence I can get 18 Mbps + down speeds, a 1/2 mile further and I get spotty 4G LTE at best. If I sit under either tower I may get 2 Mbps 3G, but I have had speed tests as low as .5Mbps sitting under the tower.
    9 months and counting after integration of "Network Vision", lets just say I am not as enthusiastic a supporter as you appear to be. TIA :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143

    hhhmmm....

    marketing BS!!!!! sprint is playing.. smoke and mirrors
    they are low cash... and doing the minimum .. just enough to be able to spin a nice marketing BS.

    hoping they can get enough money from new owner to make the right network changes!!!

    but ... they are bleeding customers!!!
    what to do????
     
  3. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,744
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    You could try asking the users at S4GRU.com (Sprint 4G Rollout Updates). Find your local market listed here to ask people in your area:
    Network Vision Market Discussions - Directory Thread - Markets - Sprint 4G Rollout Updates

    Status of each market:
    Network Vision/LTE Deployment Running List - Network, Network Vision/LTE Deployment - Sprint 4G Rollout Updates
     
  4. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,170
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,170
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    while zip code 93905 is one of the 7 zip codes that cover Salinas CA, that zip code has one LTE enabled site within in on Williams Rd. According to Sensorly Sprint LTE coverage seems to be better than others in the area except one carrier.

    TS
     
  5. pfoneguy

    pfoneguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013

    Mar 30, 2013
    95
    12
    18
    Male
    And it is 1/2 mile S.W. of my residence, so Sprint LTE is good for less than 1/2 mile.
    So for an official 4G LTE market at approximately a 1/2 mile away you get avg. 1 Mbps LTE, avg. .5 Mbps 3G and Garbled voice. Now if I were on the fringe then I could understand this type of lousy service, but I am not. There are roughly 7 towers in 23.22 sq miles and you can not maintain a continuous 3G or 4G LTE connection when traveling around town.
    It is no wonder Sprint was listed last in 17 cities in the Dec. '13 Consumer Reports, that says a lot when those are also major market cities.

    I actually mapped a lot of what Sensorly shows for Sprint and in some of the areas where it shows a fair connection there is no longer access or it is intermittent at best, so I am not sure how they can be a reliable source if they do not update when service has been reduced and/or lost. Where ever there is light purple you will be hard pressed to have decent speeds or maintain a connection.
     
  6. oldpalmguy

    oldpalmguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 23, 2011

    May 23, 2011
    16
    4
    16
    Sprint seems to spending money other than on improving network speed. Sprint's corporate philosophy seems to be that marketing trumps performance. Where others standing next to me get 11 mbs on Verizon I get .1 or less (Speedtest.net). This is in Central Orange County, CA (Santa Ana, North Tustin on Sprint HTC One M7. "unlimited data" has no benefit if your data speed is so slow. I could never recommend Sprint to anyone.
     
  7. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    I'm in the same area of Orange County. After 10 long years with Sprint I'm done. I have moved my 2 lines to At&t and my has over 350 lines that I moved to VZW. I kept waiting and waiting for a change nothing has changed. But good news Spark is on the way :rolleyes: don't fall for it.


    Signed,,,
    Moving on
     
  8. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,486
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    4g and 3g speeds are awesome in my area since they finished the upgrades.
    I live in Southeastern Ohio and it is hilly and rural but Sprint has really stepped it up. They are suppose to put in 2 new towers in a couple areas to expand coverage as well.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  9. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    Finally getting LTE here in Sacramento. I'm getting it places where I was getting almost no 3g for a while. I even get good speeds at my house. I don't even use Wi-Fi on my phone at home. I told myself if Sprint doesn't have LTE before the Note 4 comes out I would leave. I guess I'm staying.
     
  10. storageman

    storageman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    92
    20
    38
    Male
    I'm with Virgin Moble (using Sprint towers), and have had 4g all over the city of Phoenix AZ, but not at my house. Sunday morning I was surprised to see the 4gLte icon appear on my G3. :eek:
     
    jmatherly411 likes this.
  11. smitty543

    smitty543 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    630
    97
    78
    In and around our community, I had an LTE icon yesterday. When i tried to check anything on the web, however, a spinning circle would only continue to spin and eventually I would get a popup "No data connection". The Sprint service maps show strongest possible LTE data signal, but my phone cannot read those maps! Hopefully things will improve!
     
  12. Tlicious1020

    Tlicious1020 On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    569
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013

    May 24, 2013
    569
    134
    93
    I've had it up here in Marysville, California since February! I must have complained enough. Not sure what phone you have but it's always better to use WiFi if you want superb battery life. 4G uses more cell phone battery than WiFi. When I'm not at home I'm connected to 4G though.
     
  13. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    I have the GS3, soon the Note 4. And yes the battery life is better with WiFi, but the download speeds are better with LTE.
     
  14. Tlicious1020

    Tlicious1020 On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    569
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013

    May 24, 2013
    569
    134
    93
    I have xfinity for WiFi so I'm getting between 50-100 mbps download speeds while I'm home. Guess that's why I'm hardly ever using 4G at home.
     
  15. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    I have U-Verse. It's not that fast.
     
  16. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,170
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,170
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    A while back depending on the time of day Sprint LTE was faster than Verizon Fios at home. So I usually stayed with LTE unless I was binge streaming a series. After I upgraded my Fios speed I use it more and leave Sprint LTE alone and only use it when away from home.
     
  17. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    Speeds have improved here in Oakland overall. I have fewer dropped calls too. For a while I had no dropped calls but lately I have one spot on my commute where the calls drop regularly again. Oh well...
     
  18. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    Sprint turned on Spark today here in Sacramento. Getting very good speeds in my brick house.
     
  19. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,170
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,170
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    For some reason yesterday and the day before I was not getting hardly any good signal for my home tower but today, its smoking. :D

    TS
     
  20. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    Nope not disappointed in my Sprint speeds...Band 41 TDD-LTE 2.5 (2500MHz)
    Screenshot_2014-12-13-15-22-42.png Screenshot_2014-12-13-15-23-23.png
     
    twospirits likes this.
  21. Tlicious1020

    Tlicious1020 On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    569
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013

    May 24, 2013
    569
    134
    93
    In order to get Sprint to upgrade your towers you must complain. I'm in the Air Force and I'm down here in New Mexico for the next few months. I called and complained about their lack of network vision. If little Marysville, CA has LTE then Alamogordo, NM should have it too. I told Sprint I can't even receive 3G indoors on my base and I'm dropping calls. They sent someone out to the tower and the problem now seems to be resolved. However, I gave them an ear full and told them the people in this area should have network vision. There are two towers in this area for them to upgrade. Sprint has a webpage dedicated to show when towers in your area are being upgraded. They did a data upgrade on the tower in this area but I told them its not enough.

    My point is to call in everyday if you aren't getting what you paid for! Enough is enough already. For the most part when I drove down here from California I was surprised to see 4G along most of my route.

    Also, tell Sprint when you call that your phone is constantly roaming on Verizon. If you do this, I think they may come out and fix the problem quicker. Sprint is trying to expand their network so they can stop paying Verizon for Sprint phones roaming on their network. Verizon is making a killing off Sprint probably.
     
  22. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    First the map you are referring to on Sprint's website is somewhat inaccurate. When you look at the map of the towers and it says "1 data speed upgrade" this doesn't mean your going to see a speed increase in 3G or even see LTE. What the "1 data speed upgrade" is referring to is that all the new CDMA/LTE hardware has been installed at the site, if you see "2 data speed upgrades" then 99% of the time LTE has been turned on and the 3G CDMA side has also been plugged into the new backhaul. Sprint doesn't have control when LTE can be fired up if the new high-speed backhaul hasn't been installed by the vendor (CenturyLink, Windstream, etc) at the site, you can't run LTE on bundled T1 lines which is what the legacy 3G CDMA runs on until the new backhaul arrives.

    Sprint's Network Vision project does not including adding new towers, Sprint does not own cell towers. Companies like SBA Towers, American Towers, and Crown Castle own the towers, Sprint just "rents" a spot on the site, even other cell providers like AT&T and T-Mobile could co-locate on a tower that Sprint requested to be built.

    Sprint's 800 spectrum holdings will increase coverage for both 1x voice and LTE.

    I have to ask, why would you not use WiFi when your home? Using WiFi saves your battery, data sessions on WiFi are better than LTE, and when on WiFi your freeing up bandwidth/capacity on the LTE network for people that need it.

    It's your phone and you pay the bill you can do as you please, but don't complain when you get throttled and get put in the top 5% of data hogs, the network's QoS will determine this nothing Sprint CSRs can do to take you off until the network deems it necessary. ;)
     
    #372 jmatherly411, Dec 22, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 22, 2014
    smitty543 likes this.
  23. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    I use LTE because it is faster than my WiFi. I mainly use the LTE for downloads. And if I am at home, why would I care about battery life. As far as using too much data, I pay for it and I'm going to use it. I pay the extra $10 a month for premium data. Might I remind you also that many of us paid this $10 and get little or no data. I'm still not sure how Sprint gets away with that. And why would I complain if they throttled me? It would be like it was when I wasn't getting much anyways. Do you really think that Sprint wants to make their customers more upset while they are losing their customers to T-Mobile? They need to fix their network and not worry about how much data people are using. They need to worry about can people use their data at all.
     
  24. pfoneguy

    pfoneguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013

    Mar 30, 2013
    95
    12
    18
    Male
    Those designations disappear after 6 months, so why would a tower be labeled with 1 speed upgrade, disappear after 6 months and then reappear with the designation 1 speed upgrade again, if what you said "all the new CDMA/LTE hardware has been installed at the site" is to be believed ???
    I have a tower .5 mi away that has been designated 1 speed upgrade then disappeared popped up again with 1 speed upgrade 3x over the last 21 months since this Network Vision Farce was implemented and it still does not broadcast 4G LTE, even though it appeared to at one point, and 3G is abysmal? So they installed all the new hardware 3x and let it sit idle??
     
    #374 pfoneguy, Dec 29, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2014
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,380
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Idle perhaps but not capriciously.

    Something may have not passed the field tests and so isn't ready to turn over to support the area. That can be anything - bad tower equipment, bad broadband service - anything.
     

Share This Page

Loading...