1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Discuss Carrier IQ and privacy?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Crashdamage, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
     

    Advertisement

  2. quest7

    quest7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    724
    132
    123
    Male
    Student
    oklahoma city, okla
  3. adaaaam

    adaaaam Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    364
    35
    43
    Male
    San Francisco
    keytracer has been on every Samsung Android I've owned (Virgin Intercept, MetroPCS Galaxy Indulge, Sprint Galaxy S II). I've only today checked the permissions and noticed how ridiculous they are. It is not listed as a running service, but I don't understand why it's installed, at 0.0b.
     
  4. adaaaam

    adaaaam Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    364
    35
    43
    Male
    San Francisco
    There is a huge difference between tracking the amount of bytes sent per month and the keystrokes entered on Websites in the passwords fields; the time and number of sms sent vs. the content of emails typed; I could go on and on. While carriers already had a lot of information on our calling habits, and even numbers called, this is nowhere near as dangerous as having keystrokes logged, which, remember, they're denying, for good reason.
     
  5. klown07

    klown07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    58
    13
    38
    Ok so now we need to find out more info about this keytracer thing
     
  6. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,270
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,270
    11,689
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    There has been talk of this over at AndroidCentral..
    keytracer - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com
    ...a poster seems to think it might part of Samsung's Touchwiz.

    Maybe it has something to do with the pattern unlock feature that Samsung phones have.
     
  7. momentoid

    momentoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    367
    62
    53
    US of A
    FYI, I do not have Samsung's Touchwiz. I was thinking Keytracer was part of Android, but it seems some devices with unofficial ROMs do not have it.

    Just to be clear, I have Android 2.1, Sprint's latest update on Samsung Moment. May be future Android releases are more cleaned up about Permissions.
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,270
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,270
    11,689
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Yeh, my Samsung Galaxy S with CM7 doesn't have it.
     
  9. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,526
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,526
    1,785
    423
    Voodoo Carrier IQ detector

    This app's goal is to let you find out as easily as possible if your Android device hosts CarrierIQ rootkit or not.
     
  10. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,196
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,196
    2,472
    443
    What's Samsung Mobil Tracker? I rooted the phone and canned it with Titanium. SGS4G on TMO.

    Don't see Keytracer, but I canned Swype, too.
     
  11. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I have Swype installed, it works, and I don't have that installed.
     
  12. WhizGidget

    WhizGidget Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #723
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    143
    22
    38
    I'm stock, HTC Incredible on Verizon, updated to Gingerbread 4.08.605.2 and I don't have a service for IQ Agent Service running on my phone...

    So... anything else I should look for? I really don't want to root just to find out if I have this...
     
  13. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    The app that jefboyardee linked is in beta, but claims it has some success in identifying CIQ.
     
  14. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

  15. klown07

    klown07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    58
    13
    38
    I'm suspicious of keytracer, because while working on a computer for somebody, his pc was very highly infected with some nasty viruses and such. One of them said Tracer something something.
     
  16. jgreetham

    jgreetham Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    202
    19
    58
    On the Android Market is Voodoo Carrier IQ Detector. Also Bloat / CIQ * Freezer. The former was mentioned at cnn.com. I ran it on my T-Mo Vibrant w/ Project V rom and it reported the s/w is not installed. Maybe it's because of T-Mo, maybe it's because of Project V.
     
  17. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    966
    213
  18. rherrera30

    rherrera30 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I rooted my EVO 4G with Revolutionary and used Root Explorer to find all files containing "IQ". There were about 8 or so. Then I simply added ".org" to their names. I got a complaint notice from the system... something like "current services needs this application", but I disregarded and rebooted. After the reboot, I checked my running apps and found that IQAgent was not running. Yes!!!

    That was about 6 hours ago. So far, I've not had any problems calling, sending text, connecting via 3G or WiFi, browsing, downloading new apps from the marketplace or running existing apps.

    Rooting took care of this issue, but that shouldn't have to be the case. As others have pointed out, we should be given the option of accepting or rejecting data capture by anyone for any reason.
     
  19. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,450
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,450
    2,747
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Can't guarantee but as far as I've been able to determine, stock, unrooted T-Mobile HTC G2 running Gingerbread 2.3.4 and unrooted LG G2x with Gingerbread 2.3.3 are both clean.
     
  20. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Now, by no means do I want, intend, or desire to insult any religious group, but why would anyone name their company that? Especially when:

    1) The word is used mostly in a derogatory manner against anyone that is not a muslim.

    2) Your product spies on American cell phone usage?!?

    I may be totally out of line here, but I call things the way I see 'em.
     
    daytonaUSA likes this.
  21. Rovers

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    161
    12
    38
  22. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,196
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,196
    2,472
    443
  23. zapjb

    zapjb Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #734
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    139
    12
    38
    No way, no how major carriers will face fines even approaching 1% of cap value. Carrier IQ might have to fall on it's sword. But whadaya wanna bet Carrier IQ is an empty shell corporation with virtually no assets. There's been no real accountability for major corps. in the last 30+ years in the USA.
     
  24. Mk1

    Mk1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Anyone know whether some uk third party generic phones are infected with carrier IQ. ?:thinking:
    I think I read somewhere a reporter had contacted various uk networks who seemed to say their phones do not have or collect iq data but then again their phones are non generic.:thinking:
     
  25. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Hmm.. maybe.. maybe not. But "shit just got real"

    Carrier IQ, HTC, Samsung hit with class-action lawsuits
     

Share This Page

Loading...