1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General display real estate on stock launcher

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jbuck1984, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    422
    39
    43
    Love the phone, just picked up the verizon gnex today. I wanted to note, I was a little disappointed with the lack of real estate on the stock launcher, its a little funny that my HTC incredible displayed widgets larger than the gnex! The google search bar at the top is very annoying and when you load a full page widget it fits in a rectangle below the search bar and above the launcher buttons. I quickly changed to launcher pro but now I can't make folders or launch some of the ICS widgets.

    Any other launchers out there you guys prefer over launcher pro?

    Can't wait to root this thing and get a ROM that removes that search bar. I would totally stay stock if it wasn't for the major loss of real estate on such a big phone.

    I wonder what the designers were thinking????
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    Here is how you can get rid of the search bar

    Settings > Apps > All > Google Search and disable it, unfortunately you still wont be able to use that screen space, but it will be gone.
     
  3. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    422
    39
    43
    Thanks! Yea def want the screen space still.... Can't wait for cm9 I know they will fix it
     
  4. ryan00davis

    ryan00davis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I think it's pretty ridiculous that they remove the search button, but then add this bar to the top of all your screens which i'll rarely use. seems like a grab for increased search traffic at the expense of usability.
     
  5. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    422
    39
    43
    And adding a dedicated multi task button seems a little wasteful when you could just long press home in the previous version
     
  6. nateap87

    nateap87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    505
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    505
    51
    78
    California
    I'm OK with it. But definitely miss the dedicated search button. Or more importantly, the dedicated settings button.
     
  7. balders

    balders Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    245
    33
    63
    Hampshire, England
    Its a few instances i've found it easier to use the search at the top to get a number rather than go to contacts.

    There is kind of a dedicated settings button in the top of the notifications.
     
  8. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    why not just use a different launcher? That would get rid of the search box no?
     
  9. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    422
    39
    43
    It does but you lose some features when moving from the stock launcher. You don't get to make folders and you lose out on some of the widgets. Plus all of the launchers out there were designed for older versions of android so it's almost like your going backwards. I can only explain like someone who has windows 7 and reverts the ui back to xp professional.

    I decided after setting up launcher pro and experiencing a bit of lag to go back and try to make the stock launcher work for now. I want to give ICS a fair shot and get used to the new features and ultimately wait for a rom that has all the tweaks I'm looking for. I have lots of trust in cm9 when they get something stable that they will incorporate some of their best features of cm7 into ics
     
  10. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    ADW launcher EX isnt bad, actually. I'm still using stock launcher as well, but I played around with ADW since I bought it the other day as a 10 cent app and use it sometimes on my tablet.
     
  11. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    By the way, if you're rooted, there's a thread in the root forum about removing that search bar...I can't link to it because I'm in the app but I'll throw it in here once I get to a PC
     
  12. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    Nova Launcher will solve all of your problems.
     
    overbyc1 likes this.
  13. overbyc1

    overbyc1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    104
    103
    68
    Male
    Cable Guy
    East NC
    Installed this last night. Launcher Pro was uninstalled. Nova has just enough extra features to be almost perfect. Still feels just like the stock launcher too. Very impressed.
     
  14. MutantCheese

    MutantCheese Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    781
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    781
    99
    78
    Edge of Insanity
    I did the APK install to give Nova a try. It's OK, but not nearly as buttery smooth as the stock ICS launcher....back to stock. I think I have actually realized that the Google "search all" on top of each panel is very useful and I missed having it always available.
     
  15. suXor

    suXor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    221
    56
    73
    U.S.A.
    Not sure why people are saying you can't create folders in other launchers...

    All launchers support folders, they are just the old style, but work the same. Group apps into a single folder/icon, click to access them.

    Also, check out circle launcher. More involved to set up the widget, but it's really cool.
     
  16. jbuck1984

    jbuck1984 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    422
    39
    43
    So after the weekend I'm on stock launcher. I guess I was super addicted to my Inc w cm7. My set up is very widget centric and I use lots of folders. I am starting to like it..... It's not so much about real estate as it is efficiency!
     
  17. schimm

    schimm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    425
    60
    63
    I don't have any performance issues with Nova. And I'm sure that further improvements will be made. I found both ADW and LPP to have problems on the Nexus. ADW came closest but with some stock widgets the scrolling was inconsistent.

    I agree on the screen real estate issue. It has less than my DroidX. I suppose it comes as no surprise as the early leaks reported the fixed search bar that was unusable space if removed and the soft buttons on the bottom. I guess I was hoping the final cut would give us sizable soft buttons or making the space on top usuable....but it didn't happen. Maybe if we complain loud enough future updates will let us use the google bar space. But I do think they messed up here.....the google bar on every page is overkill and kinda stupid IMO. My only other concern is my radio/battery life.....I'm still leaving the Rezound as an option due to these issues.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...