1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

DK28 to EB13 Tutorial: Can we get one from one of the pros around here?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cruiser771, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. cruiser771

    cruiser771 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    124
    7
    36
    Huntington Park, CA
    Just wondering if one of the pro's can write up a easy tutorial on the different options us DK28 users can take. I have DK28, rooted. I know others are not rooted too. The options I see are to either flash back to stock 2.1 and then get EB13 (although I think there might be issues with the modem), or perhaps there will be a way to update the phone and the modem from DK28 to EB13? The benefit in that would be moving apps to the SD and not losing them, I think (I haven't moved apps to SD yet).

    The main thing I'd like is if it can be kept here as separate thread, and not grouped in with the Froyo thread, as you can get lost in there. I know there's a whole bunch of us DK28 users who will really appreciate this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Right now it appears you are looking at 3 options.

    Option 1, use Odin to return to the last official version. This will return your phone to 100% stock like your phone is brand new. You will lose everything on your phone doing it this way. Also worth mentioning that it is always a possibility that you will completely lose root abilities if Samsung gets sneaky.

    Further instructions on odin later tonight.


    Option 2, wait for the developers to throw a rooted version together for us. Use Odin to update the modem. Flash an update ROM. Also worth noting that the developers may come up with a way to update the modem without the use of Odin.


    Option 3, when the full tar.md5 file is released (not the one currently available), you can you Odin to update your phone that way. Once again, plan on your phone being wiped completely clean and you may lose root completely.



    Personally, I'm waiting for option 2.


    I'm positive that one of us will put detailed instructions up as soon as they are known and verified. :)
     
    only1penny, Flaspeneer and cruiser771 like this.
  3. BubZX

    BubZX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    109
    17
    38
    waynesboro PA
    What about those of us that just used the one click root? I'm still on 2.1 just rooted
     
  4. xxxsteveoxxx

    xxxsteveoxxx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    I think you guys are good. I'm no expert but I think you will get the ota update no prob. The only thing is you may lose root.
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823

    Correct, from my understanding. If you've removed bloatware or changed anything it may fail during the upgrade process though.
     
    xxxsteveoxxx likes this.
  6. cruiser771

    cruiser771 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    124
    7
    36
    Huntington Park, CA
    yeah, removed bloatware is going to be a problem for some, I couldn't even do DK28 because of that. thanks to kelmar, I was able to go back to stock. if your simply rooted, isn't it a 1 click unroot as well? might as well unroot because the update will probably do it anyway. I'm sure a new root will be available shortly. well I guess we just have to wait it out.
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Just read the apparently the update will fail if you are rooted because you don't have the stock recovery. I'm sure the developers will bypass that requirement though. :)
     
  8. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    Yes that makes a lot of sense like alwasy Kelmar.
    This is what I think from a support point of view about ROOTING
    Samsung will not remove the abilty to root the phone samsung can care less about users rooting phones. If you root your phone you do so at your own risk. The same way we root our phones now will work after the update. just my 2 cents worth :)
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823

    My thoughts as well.
     
  10. geese_com

    geese_com Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    What is the "last official version" we should return our Epics to so that the OTA will work for us who are currently on DK28?
     
  11. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    From what I understand it is DI18
     
  12. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Correct, but even if you were to return it to a previous version such as DI07 or DG28 you would still be ok.
     
  13. geese_com

    geese_com Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks guys. I was able to flash back to DI18 and then my phone prompted me to install an update and now it is at DI07.
     
  14. geese_com

    geese_com Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Sorry I flashed back to DG27(?) then I updated to DI07, then I was prompted to update again to DI18.
     
  15. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    if your phone prompted you to update you are on the right track.
     
  16. geese_com

    geese_com Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Good to know! Thanks for all the info guys!
     
  17. kpenning

    kpenning Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    78
    66
    33
  18. jmsnyc

    jmsnyc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    44
    3
    16

    Is option 2 available? With EC05?

    I have DK28, rooted, with CWM 2.5.1. Can I just put a tar file on my sd card as update.zip?

    I know this thread is old but I am trying to find a simple way to get off DK28 without losing everything...
     
  19. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    If your rooted then titanium backup is a good way to make backups of everything individually. Also I don't think there is any issue with you using clockworkmod 3.0.2.5 And is updateable through your current clockwork. Just make a new nand backup after install.

    Also heard my backup pro is solid, never used it myself as I use titanium backup.
     

Share This Page

Loading...