1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dlna problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shenga, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. shenga

    shenga Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    39
    0
    15
    Bit of a strange one :

    Bought 2 DHD's at the same time. One for myself, one for my son. Both MAC addresses in the router. My Desire finds the DLNA enabled TV, my sons doesn't !

    We have gone through the settings on both devices and both seem to be identical in the way they are configured - both are connected to the same network.

    Any ideas, anyone ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Do you have the Media Link app installed on your phone and your son doesn't (or is that what you're using to check)?

    Sorry, never tried the DLNA thing so just taking as stab in the dark.
     
  3. saj_2001ind

    saj_2001ind Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    840
    67
    78
    hey which dlna tv u have and how did u managed to connect DHD to it ?
     
  4. shenga

    shenga Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    39
    0
    15
    @El Presidente - By default this app seems to be on both devices and both devices report "Unable to find HTC Media Link". I believe you have to have special hardware for this to work.

    @saj_2001ind - I have a Samsung 46C750. I cant give you a step by step process in how I connected but can give you the basics in what happened. We have only had the phones a week or so but I had noticed a message popping up on the TV a couple of times informing that < something/type of media > was trying to connect. I ignored it as I thought it may of been my son playing around with his phone. I have no idea what I had been doing at the time as I was still in my 'getting to know the phone' phase. Then the other night, was playing around with it again in Camera > (picked any photo) > menu > select player > and noticed there were two players. My phone and the TV-46C750 ! And thats it basically ....
     
  5. arlrb

    arlrb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    305
    38
    43
    Get twonky (free) or imediashare (paid - but gives you youtube, news channels plus other stuff as well).

    This should make things very easy...

    ps - if both phones have the same name, this might cause a conflict
     
  6. shenga

    shenga Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    39
    0
    15
    Thanks for that but he tried twonky and still couldn't find the TV.

    < interesting > ps - if both phones have the same name, this might cause a conflict

    From which client end do you mean - the TV ?

    On the home network, both phones have unique names.
     
  7. shenga

    shenga Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    39
    0
    15
    OK, problem solved.

    Thank you arlrb for giving me the idea.

    The solution was in the "AllShare" settings of the Samsung TV

    Now the TV appears on both devices. Many thanks for everyones input.
     
  8. arlrb

    arlrb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    305
    38
    43
    No, thank you. At least i will know why should my house ever get more than one dlna enabled smart phone. (have samsung c5800)
     

Share This Page

Loading...