1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Do I need band 12?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by norb, Feb 20, 2016.

  1. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    Will I just get slower coverage or no coverage in rural areas with a lack of band 12?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    You'll have coverage via Band 4. No significant speed difference. The main advantage of Band 12 is better signal penetration into buildings, etc.
     
  3. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    What about rural coverage? Would that be limited? I live in an extremely rural area.
     
  4. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Your speed on other 4G LTE Bands will be just as fast as Band 12.
    What affects it most is your proximity to the towers,overall network congestion & whether or not you're being throttled.
    I've got Band4 in my location & it's blazing fast where available,I've clocked 50 mbps at my work.
    Band12 has better building penetration.

    Exactly how far you can be,under the best of circumstances,I'm not sure,but,I did find this guesstimation on another site:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/how-far-can-a-tmobile-tower-reach.1699287/
     
  5. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    T-Mobile over all doesn't have as good of rural coverage then AT&T and Verizon, have you checked their coverage map?

    T-Mobile coverage map:
    http://www.t-mobile.com/coverage.html
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  6. Sept1967

    Sept1967 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015

    Mar 28, 2015
    484
    258
    108
    Male
    More people will eventually need band 12. T-Mobile is converting hspa+ coverage to LTE band 12.
    So if your phone doesn't connect to bands 2 or 4...and your phone doesn't handle 12...you are Sol.

    But that's the future...get your next phone with band 12 if you stay with Tmobile
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  7. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    Their cover
    their coverage map does not say what bands I need.
     
  8. norb

    norb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016

    Jan 8, 2016
    251
    36
    43
    So, if I have bands 2 and 4, will I need band 12 in extreme rural areas? I am using a band 12 phone on their network right now. It sucks and I want to send it back for something that works. This is a prepaid plan.
     
  9. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Sept1967 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...