1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Do I need bluetooth earphones for music?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tg727, May 3, 2011.

  1. tg727

    tg727 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I've tried plugging in some random headphones into the jack but they didnt work at all. so do i need to spring for some bluetooth ear/headphones or am i missing something?
     

    Advertisement

  2. sreum

    sreum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    614
    113
    93
    michigan
    You should be able to plug any standard head phones in and have them play. But you have to make sure you dont have an app turning down the volume. Try a different set of head phones. If all volumes are up then you might have a phone problem.
     
  3. ciper

    ciper Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    368
    83
    53
    I use the headphone jack for music often. I regularly listen to music in one of my three cars, using either an FM transmitter, a tape adapter or an aux input all connected to the headphone jack.

    For best results set the volume no higher or lower than 75%
     
  4. tg727

    tg727 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    i bought some new ones today and no dice. what would, if anything, metro do if i brought it in to them.
     
  5. betsuni78

    betsuni78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    118
    17
    38
    San Francisco
    are you getting music through the speakers when you plug in the headset? if you are, it's possible that the jack is jacked up?
     
  6. betsuni78

    betsuni78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    118
    17
    38
    San Francisco
    and the ones you bought, are they bluetooth?
     
  7. tg727

    tg727 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    yes, im still getting music while earphones are plugged in. and no they werent bluetooth. i was going for the cheapest fix first lol. i did find some decently priced bluetooth headphones though.
     
  8. meizme

    meizme Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    push it harder, you can get it in what you think is all the way, push a little more and bamm, it works, it wont flip over till its all the way in and there is resistance at 9/10 of the way in.
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  9. tg727

    tg727 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    damn!! good call meizme!! you really have to shove that sumbitch in there. now i dont gotta blare my music for everyone to hear. thanks.
     
  10. meizme

    meizme Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    anytime boss
     
  11. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Has anybody used any of the headphones that MetroPcs sells for the indulge? since im getting the indulge tomorrow and i need a good pair or can i keep using my apple headphone with mic?
     
  12. sreum

    sreum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    614
    113
    93
    michigan
    Any thing with a mic might actually interact with voice command unwantedly. But other then that, I dont see why not.
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  13. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    hey Sreum

    would it work since i had another android phone and the apple mic headset didn't work but only music..yet my old crappy BB worked with the apple mic like a charm. Again Sreum thanks for the help
     
  14. ickster

    ickster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    347
    41
    43
    N. Texas
    Any 3.5 headset should work. If you like your Apple one and it works keep it. I'm not familiar with Apple though, they may not use a standard headset. Wouldn't surprise me if it was proprietary.

    And of course you pretty much have to have a headset as opposed to headphones. If you want to answer the phone.
     
  15. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Hey Ickster

    thanks for the info. Yes the Apple one is a 3.5 headset. It has the answer,mute and volume rocker.
     
  16. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Hey Ickster i did tried the apple headphone. They work for Music and thats it since they other person i try to speak can't hear me,but i can hear then :(
     
  17. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    Just buy a standard headset instead. Apple's maybe proprietary and they might have switched around the connections just to "be different". Maybe they have a different configuration to account for the volume rocker, and other such things. I used my old headset that came with the indulge, and it works just fine. I just happen to not like like it.
     
  18. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Hey Tiede

    I took it to the metropcs store and one of the guys said that was odd since the headset should work in the indulge with no problems. So he wants me to get it check and if is not working to get it replace this Thursday.
     
  19. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    well, we'll see, won't we? Let us know what the verdict is.
     
  20. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Will do Tiede as soon as I comeback from Metro I will give you guys the full 411
     
  21. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    woooww!! i was having the same issue with the Op and was pissed off..but then i jammed in all the way in and it work on my phone! this is my replacement so i thought the jacks just don't work or something..thanks guys
     
  22. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    Hmmm, that's a good point. If the connections are not made right, it will not behave correctly. it's the same with all audio devices, of course, but some holes are tighter than others.... (ok people, minds out of the gutters, please)
    But yeah, always try sticking it in all the way. ;)
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  23. TRS-80

    TRS-80 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    I didn't read this thread until today, but I just wanted to reiterate that I experienced the same problem. I thought something was wrong until I really pushed hard on the headphone plug and got it to go in that last little bit. So it sounds like a common problem with the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...