1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Do I need to switch?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by khawn, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. khawn

    khawn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    I'm just getting proficient with my Metropcs phone and now we just got 3G. Today I find out that T-Mobile has a $ 50 deal just like Metro has. They also offer a LG Optimus phone. And most of all they are offering 4G service. I might be just little bit tempted to change over.

    Ken
     

    Advertisement

  2. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    you wont get 4g with an optimus I dont think. also read the fine print, you get limited amount of data, someone said 100mb's:mad:
     
  3. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    The Optimus for them would not be 4G. It is not limited to 100MB though, it is 2GB. After that it is throttled down. My question would be throttled down to what? Their limited speed might still be faster than our normal Metro speeds! I believe that you have to sign a two year contract with this deal and it is a minimum two lines. Not a problem for me, but could be to some.
     
  4. bwestover

    bwestover Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    24
    1
    16
    No contracts, ever. I can't speak to the caps, but you don't sign a contract with MetroPCS, that and the price is the whole point of using it over some of the other nationwide carriers.

    Also, as others have mentioned, the Optimus won't do 4G. The only Android phone on Metro that will, is the Samsung Indulge.
     
  5. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    No offense, but did you even read the thread before you posted? We all know that MetroPCS has no contracts. We are all customers of theirs. The OP was asking about switching to T-MOBILE! T-MOBILE!!! And yes, they DO require a two year contract and cap the 4G data speed after 2GB in the billing period.
     
  6. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    So wait, T-MOBILE is just blowing smoke? I just saw a commercial talking bout that $50 plan with no contract
     
  7. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    I believe Tmobile does now have a no contract prepaid plan, I do not think it has been out for very long.
     
  8. lordzaron

    lordzaron Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    Looking at their website the only plans they have like that are for 4G only. The $50 plan is capped at 100M at 4G speed though theres a $70 that says unlimited across the board. The only phone I see them offering for the prepaid is a refurbished Samsung Galaxy for $350 though. Doesn't really seem worth switching for imo.
     
  9. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93

    I didn't know about that prepaid one. The one on their main page they are heavily advertising is the one I described. It seems like a decent deal but does have the contract and throttling after 2GB. There is also a $35/line activation fee, but the phones are subsidized pricing. The whole lineup is available.

    For my four lines at Metro, we pay $150 flat. The same on the T-Mobile plan above would be $170+tax, so I guess around $200 after taxes and fees.
     
  10. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    Here is the link to the details. It is little difficult to find since they really want you to go into the store to try to hook you. http://explore.t-mobile.com/value-plans?cm_sp=tmo_lp-_-49.99-_-learnmorevp#value_plans
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...