1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Do I need to unroot to update to Ke8

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shotgun84, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    No, when you flash to KE8 it will unroot automatically.
     
    Shotgun84 likes this.
  3. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Do I then just press root in Super One Click to re-root my phone, or will it now have a secure kernel? Sorry if that's a dumb question but I'm new to rooting.
     
  4. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Not sure, I have never used the on click root I just re rooted with CF Root.
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I've had a read up on doing this with CF Root and it looks a bit more complicated than the other method but it looks doable. If the worst comes to the worst atleast I have a nice paperweight.
     
  6. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Its quite simple when you have done it once :) Flash one file with odin and your done...
     
  7. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    "Put the zImage file on the root folder of Internal SD Card. ( do not put it inside any folder of Internal SD Card. ) "

    Thats the bit that confusing me. How do you put the file on the root folder without putting it in a folder.
     
  8. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    It just means put it on your phone memory but not in a folder if you get me. All though im pretty sure I put mine in the usb storage folder, I dont think it matters.
     
  9. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    I just checked and I did put the zImage in the usb storage folder and it worked fine for me.
     
  10. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    This was badly written by someone who doesn't know their Unix properly. It should say "Put the zImage file in the root directory (not a sub-directory) of...".
     
    Shotgun84 likes this.
  11. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Thanks guys. Will give it a go 2moro as had a few beers 2nite so probably not wise to do it now. Will post back if I ain't bricked my phone.
     
  12. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
  13. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Shotgun84 and Slug like this.
  14. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Just flashed. Evenings ok
     
  15. Elst

    Elst Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    I did the same using CF root method and seems ok in the main. I didnt re-flash the origional kernel yet as I do not have an SD card but i dont get the yellow warning triangle on start up either. Is this becasue i flashed the the same KE2 firmware on my device? Do i need to re-flash teh stock firmware?

    Soory I am also a noob at this and although I now have super user access and CWM v1.80 I feel as if i should be doing something else. My Kernel firmware version still reads exactly the same as before i flashed is this right?

    Additionally my wireless connection keeps dropping out and some applications saying no data recieved intermitantly. Is there a fix for this...?

    Grrrrrr. What have i done! :mad: lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...