1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Do I need to update my Radio?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jericko, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha
    Thanks to the people of this forum, I was able to get 2.3 on my rooted phone. I am now reading I may need to update my Radio.

    Is this something I need to do? What does the radio do and why do I need to upgrade?

    Thanks
    Jason
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no you do not necessarily need to update your radios. but people have noticed better signal strength both in 3g and 4g. for me though i have seen slightly better strength at home. but it is a little hit or miss going out on the road. so up to you if you want to upgrade. i just flashed this rom http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/348417-rom-mikroms-6-3-2011-mikg-v1-0-2-1-3-0-a.html and it seems to be working a lot better as far as signal strength goes. i have not looked at download speeds yet.
     
    jericko likes this.
  3. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    From what I can tell....the updated radio will show better. 3g and 4 g signal and speeds in areas that were good before. Areas that were piss poor still are. Battery life on this radio/price is pretty good too
     
    jericko likes this.
  4. Greenstein

    Greenstein Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    I'm fairly certain I flashed the new radio's properly, but the update somehow broke one of my key apps for my job (Good Communications) that I restored from Titanium Backup before I did the radio update. I had to reflash the odexed rom and restore the app from TB and it worked again so something in the radio flashing process breaks this app.
     
    jericko likes this.
  5. jericko

    jericko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    344
    124
    68
    Systems Engineer
    Omaha
    Thanks guys for the replies, I took the plunge and update my radio. It was super easy and I am glad its done.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...