1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Do not use the OTA.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dark Jedi, May 12, 2011.

  1. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Just got off the phone with the tech support and he said they have been getting lots of problems with the ota's and he said to get the updates off the manufacturer's website. Now if this is true or not? I don't know.

    What I do know is my phone is fubar if off the charger. They are sending a new phone so that's good. I want to see if people has a different experience getting the update through HTC and not the ota.

    Like I said just wanted to share what I learned from the call I did to give others another option.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AustinTech

    AustinTech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    598
    97
    108
    Alpharetta, GA (ATL)
    Mine is working fine thus far, but I've been on wifi and only made one call. Tomorrow will be the test as I go in and out of 4g and 3g and wifi with heavy calls and texting.

    Glad you are getting a new phone. Sounds like your current phone has serious issues. Jeeze.
     
  3. dylo22

    dylo22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    743
    119
    93
    The only problem I have with the update is I can't get a GPS lock. I thought they fixed this? I haven't had any other problems. No reboots.
     
  4. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Like I said its hit and miss by his words.

    Funny thing is when i got my droid 1 i had a simular problem. with the 2.1 update. maybe i am cursed lol.
     
    Funderbolt likes this.
  5. Knowitall

    Knowitall Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    Texas
    I saw that the OTA was available this afternoon and did the 'check new' and it found it right away (no notification on the notification bar, BTW). I let it run and didn't touch it even when it seemed it was stuck and it installed just fine. Took about 5 minutes. So far, so good.
     
  6. redraider1

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,532
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    1,532
    195
    143
    My screen was acting up a little and this was a replacement. But i did get one reboot after doing the ota. They are sending me another because my screen came apart from the casing. This is my 3rd replacement this shit is getting old fast and if it keeps happening they better do something other then continuing to send a replacement that is faulty.
     
  7. 97'es

    97'es Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    92
    11
    18
    good so far... 3g signal strength seems better presently... GPS Locks slightly faster...
     
  8. JustinHEMI

    JustinHEMI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    538
    151
    103
    Male
    Senior nuclear reactor operator
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Just like the phone itself, there is going to be people that have issues with the update and there is going to be people that don't have issues with the update. The title of the thread is misleading.
     
  9. Funderbolt

    Funderbolt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    221
    13
    38
    Male
    engineer
    Va
    I haven't noticed any change since the upgrade.
     
  10. BzB

    BzB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    521
    106
    93
    thread title is misleading if not sure about the results. it's like yelling fire in a crowded theater when you're not sure if you even smell smoke.

    ota updates always always always have hiccups here and there. i've never seen one ota on any device go perfect. there will be some people who get bricked for one reason or another and there will be many people who have no issues at all.

    again, thread title is VERY misleading given the larger feedback in the other ota threads.
     
  11. ma2_85

    ma2_85 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011

    Apr 10, 2011
    3
    1
    6
    my phone has randomly been restarting since I installed the update.
     
    redraider1 likes this.
  12. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ok here is what we have heard... The OTA is the same as the leak that some of us have been running. That leak has caused random reboots on some phones (I have been one of the lucky ones that it hasn't happened with), a few of the devs had nailed it down to being the new radio and not the actual software.

    Someone has now learned that the reason the radio was causing the reboots was because of certain software that was running on some of the cell towers. That software was having trouble communicating with the radio. The reason for the OTA being delayed was so that VZW could get that tower software updated.

    From my understanding this has happened, however there might still be some towers that they are working on. The reboots are not a hardware defect in your phone and getting a new one is not going to help. I would call VZW and talk to someone above a tier 2 tech.
     
    magpullin likes this.
  13. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    This all sounds good and I hope the fix for the reboots is in fact on the tower side... but I got a random reboot this morning, in NYC where signal is not an issue. I doubt they wouldn't have fixed the issue for the New York market before pushing out the OTA...

    Aside from this 1 random reboot my phone has been fine. Hopefully it never happens again.
     
  14. Gav508

    Gav508 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I did the IT'S yesterday and sorry that I did. I have had 4 random reboot and now my gps refuses to lock even after 5 minutes.Disappointing. should have left it alone
     
  15. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have yet to update. Considering the problems I was having were very minimal, thus I don't see a reason to get it. Are there really any benefits from it if you're not having real poor GPS performance and switch 4G off in spots that you know are problematic? I'll wait for the rumored Android update, Jalape
     
  16. rhippler

    rhippler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    171
    17
    58
    The update fixed the GPS lock and Bluetooth issues I had. I was getting random reboot prior to the update so I can't say if it has had any effects on them or not. So far I am glad that I did it.
     
  17. Brisdaddy1207

    Brisdaddy1207 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    If you get 10000 people out of 5 million having problems then its not a problem. It's ten thousand people bitching or trying to shut the phone off or playing with it well its updating.
     
  18. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    So your saying people having problems with the update is their own fault?
     
  19. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC

    Can't blame the people man, its a faulty update that has been pretty much hit or miss with a lot of people so far.
     
  20. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    +1
     
  21. dylo22

    dylo22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    743
    119
    93
    I agree the title of the thread is misleading. Just because some people are having issues doesn't mean everyone should stay away from the update. I don't having one single issue with the update. I thought my gps still couldn't get a lock, but once I rebooted it was fine. I could get a lock under 20 seconds.
     
  22. tondraj

    tondraj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    0
    5

    Same here; no matter what I do I can't get my gps to lock. It's very frustrating, but other than that it's fine. No reboots so far.
     
  23. Silent Thunder

    Silent Thunder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    201
    14
    38
    Mine is 100% after the OTA everything working great no reboots no problems at all.
     
  24. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    It's hard for me to compare before/after on the OTA as mine came up with the "Firmware update" pop-up soon after I purchased it. Haven't had a single random reboot, though, after applying (but didn't have any before, either).
     
  25. makerofdrums

    makerofdrums Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    21
    0
    35
    Try GPS status in the Market. Use the Manage AGPS state tool. Did it about 2 weeks ago have been locking in very quickly now
     

Share This Page

Loading...