1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Tips Do the factory reset after updating to ICS!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ridgerunner665, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. Ridgerunner665

    Ridgerunner665 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #592
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    194
    39
    43
    Heavy haul truck driver
    I know that idea has been thrown around on here since the OTA...but...

    My phone seemed to be working fine without doing the reset, but I did it anyway (2 days after the update) and I'm glad I did...

    Several little things came to life on my phone after the reset...all my apps were restored by Google, as well as my contacts and everything...no good reason not to do the reset.

    It did make a difference...
     

    Advertisement

    waterproofed, FragDroidX and JRJ like this.
  2. Jerzie

    Jerzie Member
    Rank:
     #1,378
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    64
    1
    16
    Dirty Jerzie
    I found this to be the case for me as well. Did it a few days after and what a difference. Highly recommend.
     
  3. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    im glad you made this post. ive been saying this over and over lol. there would be a lot less negative posts about ics if everyone would follow your advice :)
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    I'll fourth this! :D
     
  5. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    I reset mine the second it rebooted from the ICS install and my phone is much much smoother than it was on Gingerbread. Battery life is about a day to a day and a half.
     
  6. Drekkyk

    Drekkyk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    34
    0
    15
    Michigan
    Mine seems snappy with good life. Should I reset? What's the procedure and expected outcomes in doing so?
     
  7. monicakm

    monicakm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    255
    13
    38
    "Smooth"? As in it scrolls smoothly? Since doing a factory reset after ICS, the scrolling feature is somewhat jerky or hesitant. When I click on, say, apps to bring up all the apps, there is a waiting period (black screen with a "I'm working on it" icon. Lots of pages don't "pop" on the screen. I'm also getting a lot of disconnects, no service, modem bars are lower. How good (or bad) is Verizon about acknowledging problems and getting fixes sent out?
     
  8. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    What do you lose by doing this? I assume all settings but your apps remain?
     
  9. monicakm

    monicakm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    255
    13
    38
    My apps did NOT remain. I thought I had taken care of that before the reset by downloading a program called AirDroid. I thought it was supposed to back up your apps to another device (in my case, my laptop) and then I could transfer them back to the phone. Either I misread the description or couldn't figure out how to trasnsfer them back to the phone. Also thought Google stored them but did the AirDroid thing as a backup. I did make a list tho and ended up having to redownload them all.
    Called tech support this morning. Agent was having all the same problems I mentioned. He said there will be some updates soon. Here's hoping!
     
  10. irishjoeyo

    irishjoeyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    310
    30
    53
    What process are people using to do the post-ICS update factory reset? Is there a best process?
     
  11. Ridgerunner665

    Ridgerunner665 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #592
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    194
    39
    43
    Heavy haul truck driver
    I did the factory data reset...settings, privacy, factory reset...select to erase all data.
     
  12. lmarsh21

    lmarsh21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    48
    2
    16
    NC
    What if you're rooted and want to do the factory reset? Will you loose root after that?
     
  13. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    247
    31
    63

    When I reset mine I still had root.
     
  14. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    247
    31
    63
    irishjoeyo likes this.
  15. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Go to play.google.com from a pc and then click on my android apps in the upper right. From there it will tell you what you had installed and you can remote install what you need.
     
    waterproofed and DDG like this.
  16. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    You never lose root with a factory reset
     
    gemini846 likes this.
  17. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #239
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    148
    93
    Arizona
    I didn't do a factory reset when I installed I c s on my phone and everything is running smooth and functions properly.
     
  18. monicakm

    monicakm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    255
    13
    38
    Thanks for the tip! I hoping tho that I could have backed them up so I wouldn't have to waste any of my 2GB data limit.

     
  19. heyjoojoo

    heyjoojoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010

    Jan 23, 2010
    203
    1
    56
    Agreed with everyone. I couldn't figure out why so many random quirks were happening on my device following the ICS installation. After doing a reset and allowing it to install that way, suddenly things that were giving me problems were no longer causing problems.
     
  20. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    noob here, just to clarify. you guys are getting the OTA ICS update and then resetting your phones back to factory (non ICS) or resetting back to brand new ICS? please unconfuse me.
     
  21. Helloneumann

    Helloneumann Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    79
    11
    18
    Self employed
    New York
    After you update to ICS Ota you factory reset. The factory reset keeps you with ICS, you just get a clean slate.
     
  22. McIrish2

    McIrish2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012

    Jun 7, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I agree about doing a factory reset. it cured all sorts of little issues I was having. Sure, it takes some extra time to reset it all back to how you had it, but I found it to be worth it.
     
  23. HookEmHorns*UT*

    HookEmHorns*UT* Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #584
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    237
    25
    43
    Industrial HVAC (Water Cooled)
    ATL, GA
    I also recommend a cache wipe with a factory data reset!
    To wipe the cache on a droid razr that is NOT rooted:

    1. Turn the phone off
    2. Press and hold the power button and that vol up AND vol down keys all at the same time untill it loads into the screen where you can select "recovery"
    3. Use the vol down key to highlight "recovery" then use the vol up key to select it
    4. Wait for it to boot up (not pressing anything) untill you see an Android and a ! Inside of a triangle.
    5. Once that screen appears, press the vol up and vol down key at the same time
    6. It should load the recovery menu, press the vol down key to get down to "wipe cache" then use the power key to select it
    7. When it is done, go to "reboot system now" and select it with the power key.

    And thats it, no root needed
     
  24. iploya

    iploya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    317
    21
    38
    Did this yesterday, and so far the only difference I notice is the contacts icon is less intuitive (a stitched-leather swatch of some sort?), and I can't find the Search Contacts program/icon I had before as a shortcut (not sure if it's part of the former OS or of an app I haven't re-installed).
     
  25. chrisco78

    chrisco78 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    45
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    16
    0
    45
    AZ USA
    I'm getting ready to do this as well. What will I lose in the process? I backed up my medias & apps, but is there a way to keep my texts after? TIA...
     

Share This Page

Loading...