1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Do you Allow automatic updating on all apps?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by MtnbikerChk, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. MtnbikerChk

    MtnbikerChk Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    242
    17
    58
    I'm on the fence. Generally I don't - but On any given day there will be a bunch of apps to update.

    Thoughts?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bren S.

    Bren S. Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    832
    158
    93
    Female
    USA
    I don't allow auto updating ever on any of my apps.
    (I have unlimited data as well.)
     
  3. Methos1979

    Methos1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    618
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    618
    129
    93
    Third rock from the Sun
  4. annebrooks64

    annebrooks64 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012

    Oct 22, 2012
    378
    74
    53
    I have unlimited data so yes I just let them auto update.
     
  5. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,217
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,217
    2,496
    443
    No. I want to know what they are updating first. Some aren't necessary. If you have a keyboard that just added a Chinese dialect, and you don't need it, why bother?
     
  6. mills2533

    mills2533 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    150
    22
    38
    Colorado (USA)
    x2

    If an app is working the way I like it to work, why let the dev mess it up! I also use a tablet for some children's apps for my son and devs will often sneak in some really offensive ways to make money off of children using ads or in app purchases once their app has become "popular". So, it can be beneficial to stay on older versions at times.

     
  7. MtnbikerChk

    MtnbikerChk Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    242
    17
    58
    Ok thanks. Thought I was in the minority!
     
  8. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #76
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,643
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,643
    1,169
    393
    NYC
    No.
    Sometimes an update will break an app, either partially or completely. I like to see what the update contains, then make a backup of the current version with Titanium Backup before allowing the update to proceed.
     
  9. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,877
    277
    163
    No. I usually check for updates every other day or so. I like to read what the update are for and what current reviews say about the update. Most of the time, the updates are fine. There have been times that I had to revert back to the previous update, because I didn't like the update. I back up the apk files of all my apps using Appsaver.
     
  10. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    993
    Posts:
    4,993
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Another no. I wait to see if there are issues etc. first.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  11. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,526
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,526
    1,786
    423
    No, for two reasons.

    First, I don’t want any unknown drains on my battery life throughout the day; they can wait until I’m plugged in at home.

    Second, there are three apps I cannot allow to update for space reasons on my teensy Optimus: Maps, YouTube and Voice Search.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  12. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,924
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,924
    4,609
    1,108
    Male
    Nope as well. Unnecessary drains on the battery in the middle if the day is a big no no for me. Plus I want to know what they are changing.

    Sent from my GT-I9003 using Tapatalk 2
     
    mikedt likes this.
  13. iwin

    iwin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    10
    0
    35
    No, I don't.
     
  14. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,523
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,523
    11,875
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Nope, because I want to look at what's been changed before doing the update, e.g. the latest release of an app might now have AirPush ads or something worse, or a useful feature might have been removed.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,065
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,065
    13,098
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Same here - nothing is allowed to update automatically and I check what has been changed before updating.

    Though being rooted, if I don't like an update I can just restore the previous version from Titanium Backup ;)
     
  16. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    None of them.

    I can't remember ever not updating any but I'm interested to see what has changed and doing it manually is the best way to do that
     
  17. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #232
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    879
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    879
    213
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I never did until about a month ago, then I decided to let them auto update. As soon as I did that, FoxFi did its update that changed it from a free app to a paid app and reduced functionality of the app unless it was purchased. Normally I pay for apps that I use, but there appears to be no hope for FoxFi with Jelly Bean, so I don't want to pay for that one. Anyway, just after I went to autoupdate FoxFi updated itself. After finding out about the changes, I immediately changed back to manual update. I'll make sure to not get that bug in my but again.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  18. The Miki Show

    The Miki Show Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012

    Feb 4, 2012
    404
    35
    63
    Female
    Living and Loving life.
    Los Angeles, Ca
    FoxFi did that to me as well. Glad I back it up first. I pay for apps, but that update was just to sneaky for my taste.
     
  19. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    I do auto updates. If permissions change the app will still need your permission. Then I go check what permissions changed.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 using Tapatalk 2
     

Share This Page

Loading...