1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Do you lose your apps if you perform the root process?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Seeknay747, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. Seeknay747

    Seeknay747 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009

    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5

    Advertisement

  2. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Using the RC29 NBH rollback will indeed wipe all of your applications. Use one of the file managers that offer backing up of applications, or you can redownload them with the list google saves (assuming you'll be using the same google account to activate.)
     
  3. Seeknay747

    Seeknay747 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009

    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    What list are you referring to? Is it in the market?

    Thanks BTW for the information.
     
  4. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Yeah, Google keeps a list of all the applications you've installed using the Google account you activated your phone with (or something unique akin to it.)

    If you were to wipe your phone, and activate again (rooted, hopefully ;)) after a little while, in the market you could click 'My Downloads' and get all of your applications, paid and not, back again.
     
  5. Seeknay747

    Seeknay747 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009

    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Is there a way to save text messages?

    Thanks for your quick replies.
     
  6. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    I don't have service on mine personally, but a friend highly recommends SMS Backup. You can see the other options you have available here: http://www.cyrket.com/search?q=sms+backup

    No problem, that's what I'm here for :)
     
  7. Seeknay747

    Seeknay747 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009

    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks, I'm backing up stuff right now and then I'm going to start the downgrade -> Root -> Update Process.
     
  8. Seeknay747

    Seeknay747 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009

    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Successfully Rooted and updated to RC33.

    Took a while longer because the extension of the DREAIMG.NBH was lowercase and it gave me a FAIL. I had to put the SD card in something else and rename the file. After I did that it all worked great.

    I'll be frequenting these forums more often now. :D
     
  9. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Awesome, glad you got it all working without (much) issue. Welcome to the forums ;)

    Next step, apps to sdcard?
     
  10. Seeknay747

    Seeknay747 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009

    Feb 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Maybe... When I figure that out, or Tethering first.

    Just another quick question, I followed the rooting directions and everything including the recovery.img part of it and it all seems to have worked fine.

    What happens when an update is pushed out OTA? Is that what the recovery.img part of the procedure prevents, an OTA update?

    Thanks again :D
     
  11. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Pretty much, the updates aren't signed with the same key as the test keys. You'll know when new updates come out, everywhere goes nuts for a few days, or weeks.
     
  12. RaiderX

    RaiderX Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009

    Mar 2, 2009
    3
    0
    25
    when a new update comes out, would i need to wipe again to update, or can i just update over the old version?
     
  13. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    It all depends what the new version changes and stuff like that. When in doubt, wiping never hurts (assuming you have backups :p)
     
  14. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    Thats if you update to a non rooted standard update, right? Cause i tried to use the JFUpdater app and it updated fine, but i reverted back cause it was somewhat buggy.
     
  15. Graham

    Graham Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009

    Mar 23, 2009
    89
    0
    25
    Australia
    Who is responsible for the standard OTA android os updates (or who builds them for you),
    is it HTC, or is it your carrier?
     
  16. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    Google does the builds ... then when ready to be released they are turned over to TMO and TMO then pushes them out OTA in random to users
     
  17. Graham

    Graham Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009

    Mar 23, 2009
    89
    0
    25
    Australia
    TMO bring the carrier correct? (What does TMO stand for btw?)

    If that is correct, does the carrier do any further modifications to the OS before releasing it out OTA to customers - like branding it or putting restrictions on it?
     
  18. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    TMO = T-Mobile.

    Not to my knowledge .. they dont have that abiltiy and that is what google does is make the code and the carrier (t-Mobile) distribute the updates ..
     

Share This Page

Loading...