1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Do you plan on activating the evo in the store or at home?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by evoman2be913, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. evoman2be913

    evoman2be913 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    196
    81
    53
    Are you going to activate your evo at home and make sure you are the first one to touch it?

    or are you cool with letting the sales rep put his grubby paws on your evo? :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ashenor

    Ashenor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    127
    11
    38
    Metro Detroit
    Have to activate it at the store since its my friends 2nd line upgrade i am using. Biggest thing that sucks is i am 2nd shipment on the 11th at my BB but am going to try to go early and get one on the 4th. With that said if they have one i need to try to get my friend to come down quickly to Best Buy that morning.
     
  3. dylan88

    dylan88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    810
    196
    113
    Five Guys Burgers and Fries
    Tampa, FL
    home. the first thing i am doing is taking off the plastic and putting on my ghost armor screen protector.
     
  4. Ashenor

    Ashenor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    127
    11
    38
    Metro Detroit
    I had my Hero since Dec and never used a armor on it and never had a scratch on it .... Even when i chucked it against and wall 3 weeks ago and broke it =/.

    The glass screens are great.
     
  5. lopezpm

    lopezpm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    218
    26
    43
    Garden City, MI
    unless you pay full retail price you have to activate it in the store , don't you? Every where I called gave me that answer, unless you ordered online.
     
    fr4nk1yn likes this.
  6. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    I'm pretty sure unless you pay full price or order from sprint.com you have to activate it in store.
     
  7. phantomevo77

    phantomevo77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    96
    21
    18
    Parker, CO
    home. the first thing i am doing is taking off the plastic and putting on my BodyGuardz


    They do not have to take the phone out of the box to activate it. (From RS Manager/Employee on the forums).

    So I'm assuming they just scan it it to your account and you are good to go.
     
  8. taylor7667

    taylor7667 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    42
    3
    16

    I'm going to agree with this. The only way you get the $199 deal is if you commit to a two year contract at the time of purchase in the store. However, I don't see why one can't commit to a 2 year contract without activating the phone. I bet those that attempt to purchase without activation will totally confuse the BB or RS reps. :cool:
     
  9. evoman2be913

    evoman2be913 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    196
    81
    53
    Just called Sprint and to clarify, they said it would not be a problem to activate it on our own. They said it is entirely up to our discretion. They told me all they have to do is an ESN swap, so make sure we do not call from our existing phone. They recommend calling from a house phone instead.

    Hope this clears up some confusion.
     
    hopalee likes this.
  10. ddanny82

    ddanny82 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    30
    1
    16
    I will be picking up my Evo before work on Friday. I'm not eligible for upgrade so I'll be paying full price, will be activating in store. I will have two charged batteries so I can play with my phone all day at work. June 4th shall be know as Evo day from now on.
     
  11. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    Will be activating my phone at the store and porting my number from T-Mo to Sprint. :)
     
    Dutch54 likes this.
  12. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    193
    67
    53
    Houston TX
    guys, DONT call it ACTIVATE. this will only confuse the reps. if you dont want them to touch it then just politely say "i dont want to TURN THE DEVICE ON". if you say "i dont want to ACTIVATE it" then they will just charge you $499 and be done with it.

    edit. keep in mind, the reason that i like to turn the device on for the customer is to make sure everything is working properly. saves you a trip. and me the hassle of trying to figure out what the customer did wrong.
     
  13. Wrxdrunkie

    Wrxdrunkie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    72
    10
    18
    I assume you work at BestBuy?

    Are you guys normally offended when someone asks this? I would love to be able to unbox the phone at home, on my own time, and set up everything at my own pace.

    I would love to leave the store not having to turn the phone on or even insert the battery. Are you saying this is possible and we could still get the 199.99 price?
     
  14. boriqua2000

    boriqua2000 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    67
    8
    16
    :thinking: hahaha..silly customers :thinking:
     
  15. sh4o8kid

    sh4o8kid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    176
    93
    53
    I asked my local RS about activating it on my own, but they said I will have to do it at the store. Is this true?

    Q: What are the benefits of activating at home? I heard it was free.
     
  16. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    193
    67
    53
    Houston TX

    no i do not work at BB i work at the other.
    i cant say i get offended when im asked this politely, but when i see comments like "grubby/greasy hands" i cant say i agree with this perspective. i consider my self clean and i dont need to put my hands on it any longer then to just turn it on and SHOW you how to use the basic functions.
    im getting my OWN EVO so i dont have any reason to "mess around" with yours.
    but all in all yes, you can ask them to not open it and they can still sell it to you under contract price.
     
  17. DUBious

    DUBious Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    193
    67
    53
    Houston TX

    again, use the term "turn on device at home" not "activate" if you mean can you buy the phone under contract and then take it home to open it and then turn it on then yes. but if you mean can you buy the phone for $199 and then take it home and "activate" it through sprint then the answer is NO.
     
  18. timlot1

    timlot1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    When I got may call from bestbuy I straight up asked if was it ok for them not to open the phone because I wanted to be the first one to open it. He kind of chuckled and said yes thats fine.
     
  19. walkwithme

    walkwithme Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2
    2
    6
    I would prefer to pay for my two Evo's and be on my way to work. However after reading the last DUBious post I guess the answer is no. I have no problem with BB activating my phones in the store, I just want to be the one opening the package lol. I know it sounds weird but this is like Christmas man we want to open our gifts. I can't be the only one!
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  20. walkwithme

    walkwithme Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2
    2
    6
    I guess I am not the only one! :D
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  21. ovelay

    ovelay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Employed? ... What day is this? (music biz)
    Los Angeles, CA
    Yep. Adios Magenta. Hello Yellow.[​IMG]
     
  22. avengence

    avengence Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    51
    2
    16
    IT
    CA
    All they need is the ESN correct? So they probably just apply that ESN to your account and when they turn the device on it activates itself onto the network.

    At least thats what it looked like when the google I/O people unboxed their phones.
     
  23. scottives

    scottives Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I am sure that some people will let you do it yourself at home but sprint does offer the readynow set up, there is so much with this phone but if yu already have an android phone than its alot of the same. The reason for instore is to self activate and if it doesnt than we program it, and make sure its working to save people time and inconvienence of calling customer care. Dont worry, I do not work for Best buy just a preffered retailer.
     
  24. Dutch54

    Dutch54 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    110
    6
    56
    got one yep
    San Pedro Ca
    Say Blinky...errr Caloy..

    I assume BB can port my ATT number over as well? I read somewhere that Sprint will give a new customer 100 bones to do that.

    Any info on whether BB can also apply the discount Sprint told me I was eligible for? (employee 20%) Also have $110 in BB gift cards I plan to apply towards purchase.

    I plan on just going in Friday at 8am and letting the mobile dept set it up...I've no experience at this kind of purchase
     
  25. freeza

    freeza Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    554
    168
    93
    Computer Tech!
    Pasadena, California
    activating at home of course.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...