1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Do you turn LTE on/off?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shel, May 27, 2011.

  1. Shel

    Shel Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    122
    20
    38
    Just wondering... I've noticed substantial extended battery life, when I remember to turn LTE off when I'm not going to need it.

    Frankly, for MY typical type of use, making calls, sending text messages, the occasional five minutes of game play, I don't need LTE.

    Now, when I want to browse the web, or download and read the news, or update my apps, I LOVE how fast LTE is!

    But again, most of the time, it's simply not needed.

    I REALLY wish some developer would release an app that turns OFF LTE, and only when I launch, say, the browser, or Market app, launches it!

    Anyone else turn LTE off when not needed?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MRW1215

    MRW1215 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    240
    10
    38
    I have the LTE OnOff app, and when I first got the phone, I'd use it to turn it down to 3G only, except for downloading things. Now that I have the 2750 mAH battery, though, I leave 4G on. Admittedly, it seemed like going 3G-only helped preserve the battery life, but recently, I've noticed that the battery seems to drain about the same whether I keep 4G on, or go down to 3G.

    Anyway, the only time I go to 3G now is when my phone starts up and won't catch the 4G signal, and defaults down to 1X. This happens about once or twice a week. Kind of annoying. It'll usually fix itself if I restart the phone, but the restart option automatically drains 15-20% of my battery, for whatever reason, so it usually just makes more sense to use the LTE OnOff app to switch to 3G-only. I was hoping the OTA would've fixed this 1X silliness, but I guess it didn't. *sigh*
     
  3. Mayimbe007

    Mayimbe007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    22
    2
    16
    I actually rooted my device and am running DasBamf 1.6.3 and leave LTE on at all times. The phone can last the entire work day so that is good enough for me.
     
  4. The_Superhoo

    The_Superhoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    271
    19
    58
    Male
    Falls Church, VA
    I dont have 4G in my area, so I turn it off.
     
  5. Whatstreet

    Whatstreet Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    251
    38
    43
    Male
    Engineer
    Fremont, CA
    I know how to turn 4G off but I leave it on for reasons of convenience. I realize that 4G uses more power but I use WiFi at work and at home. So most of the time my Thunderbolt draws power like a typical phone.

    I have an 8A external battery for when on the street with no opportunity to recharge with a car or wall charger.

    I want the HTC 2750mA battery and have it on order with Amazon. If anyone knows a good place to get one, please start a new thread and tell us where that is.

    Posted with my Thunderbolt.
     
  6. Whatstreet

    Whatstreet Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    251
    38
    43
    Male
    Engineer
    Fremont, CA

    The 1x situation has happened to me before but it does not happen often. I fixed it by switching to WiFi then back to 4G because I wanted the speed. Sometimes 4G is faster than WiFi. Basically then phone needs to establish the data connection.
     
  7. MRW1215

    MRW1215 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    240
    10
    38
    Yeah, it's weird, because when I get stuck on 1X, if I use the LTE OnOff app to switch to 3G-only, it picks up the 3G signal right away, but if I switch it back to the 4G option, it immediately drops back down to 1X. Sometimes if I leave it on the 3G-only option for a few hours, and then switch it back to the 4G option, it'll jump to 4G, but having to wait a few hours and then change the setting is kind of inconvenient. I never tried switching to wi-fi (as when I'm away from home, I'm not around many wi-fi networks, that I know of), but I have tried going into settings and turning "mobile network" off, waiting a little while, and then turning it back on, but it still sticks with 1X.
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I've yet to travel to a location where I don't have 4G coverage and I have only turned off 4G once, when there was the nationwide outage a month ago, oddly enough I got my phone when the outage was going on and everyone at VZW I spoke with said I could not activate the phone because of the outage, except the rep that sold it to me who was trying to get it to activate why trying to sell me on the iPhone.
     
  9. dguy

    dguy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    985
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    985
    277
    113
    Male
    Leave it on 24/7 here
     

Share This Page

Loading...