1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dock app continues to run???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mcoomer, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. mcoomer

    mcoomer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    72
    6
    16
    Got one; it pays the bills
    Sammamish, WA
    Since updating to 2.3.3, the multimedia dock app has been acting strangely and I was wondering if anyone else was seeing this. When I drop the phone in the dock I get a popup asking me which program I want to use to run the app. I select Multimedia Dock App and the remember button and the phone starts the dock app. The app runs normally but when I pull the phone out of the dock the app continues to run.

    I've setup Tasker to screen my calls while the phone is in the dock and since the dock app continues to run so does my Tasker sleep mode profile. This keeps the ringer silenced for all calls except the family members that I selected for the sleep mode profile. Anyone else that calls before 11:00AM gets the silent treatment.

    Let me know if you've noticed your dock app acting strangely. If so then I won't bother to call Verizon. If I'm the only one that's experiencing this then I'll give them a call and listen to the "golly, gee, wonder why it's doing that" response. BTW...if there's a 20 page thread on this problem please cut me a break on the "didn't you see the other thread" or "why don't you try search" replies. I'm at work and only had a few moments to put this question in.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     

    Advertisement

  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You won't get those type of replies in this forum. The first thing I would do is try clearing the app data/cache for the dock app, doing so tends to take care of a lot of little bugs for individual apps.
     
  3. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    This actually happened to me this morning. I didn't try any of the data clearing that airmaxx suggested but a reboot of the phone fixed the problem. Idk if it will be a recurring one tho.
     
  4. mcoomer

    mcoomer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    72
    6
    16
    Got one; it pays the bills
    Sammamish, WA
    Best place to pose this question? If I clear cache will this be a one time fix or will I need to do it everyday?

    Mike
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You never know but it's worth a shot.
     
  6. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
     #161
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    usually it is just a one time thing...you may want to boot into recovery (weather it be stock recovery or CWM recovery) and clear cache. i had to do that for my market to start acting normal again.
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Moving to support. :D
     
  8. dragonbro

    dragonbro Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    262
    25
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    Happens to my rooted .596 X every now and then when I remove it from the multimedia dock. I can press the home button and it clears back to normal, or a reboot will cure it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...