1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

does android allow installation of apps in external memory

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by smartways, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. smartways

    smartways Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    hi fans
    I read somthing about andorid system and I would like to confirm that.
    I read that Android system does not allow installation of applications in an external memory like SD card.

    is this true ? or this problem has been solved in newer versions of anroid.

    thanks in advance for your reply.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AHanks12

    AHanks12 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    220
    12
    38
    Virginia
    currently this is not possible w/o Froyo.
     
  3. smartways

    smartways Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    thanks for the prompt reply.

    sorry I'm new to the andorid world.

    may I ask what did you mean by w/o Froyo ?

    Is Froyo a new device or a new update of andorid ?
     
  4. AHanks12

    AHanks12 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    220
    12
    38
    Virginia
    Froyo is the next Android OS. We are still waiting for it to be released for the Incredible. Read a little about it here:

    What Is Froyo?
     
  5. DenverRalphy

    DenverRalphy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    440
    85
    53
    Aurora CO
    Just out of curiosity, I've seen this requested by users of almost every smartphone platform. Aside from Android getting it with the newest release, does any smartphone offer apps installed to external memory?
     
  6. DemonDomen

    DemonDomen Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    27
    2
    16
    You can do that on WinMo 6.
     
  7. sonmica

    sonmica Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    i was able to do it on my n95.
     
  8. Jammy

    Jammy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    972
    174
    113
    United Kingdom
    I know it's possible on Winmo. On iPhone, you can get up to 32GB of internal memory anyway, so it's not a problem.
     
  9. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,141
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    1,141
    105
    163
    Student
    Sugar Land, TX
    Many devices can do this through root (root is similar to jailbreaking, grants administrative access to phone but voids warranty). Check out xda or modaco forums if you are interested. There are other hacking/development communities out there, no clue what they are.

    Sent from my Liquid using Tapatalk
     
  10. Connormgs

    Connormgs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    8
    1
    6
  11. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Don't forget, there's always Google:
    Let me google that for you

    It helps to learn to fish rather than to wait on people to give you fish. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...