1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does Anyone Else Hate Their Epic?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by simcha, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. Mike F.

    Mike F. Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    San Diego
    Wife and I both have one. Until the Froyo update my wife loved hers... now she is mad for spending the money and talking her into it. She got the OTA and 1/2 the time her dial pad doesnt show up and her landscape is screwy...I keep telling Gb will fix it all,, really....


    Looks like I married a fruit person come October.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    Have you tried a factory reset. Settings, privacy, factory reset? After an O.T.A. update the phone can be a bit goofy until you do one. You should NOT have to wipe anything off the sd card. But if you don't need anything on it, it won't hurt anything to do it.

    Hope that helps, happy wives make happy husbands.
     
    Mike F. likes this.
  3. alanamaslama

    alanamaslama Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    74
    19
    18
    I'm ready for a new phone. I'm on my 3rd Epic as the first two rooted Epics bricked on me. Without rooting, my phone was never as fast as everyone cracked it up to be. It's been glitchy or laggy (why should it take forever to load my dialer, and contacts list?). When I try to show off cool things with Android, it's kind of like when you try to get your friends to listen to a new song they've never heard of before. "Hey, listen to this! .... OK, one second, it's after this part.... Few more seconds. Oh, woops, I accidentally hit rewind."

    I've always had some type of hardware problems. All three of my Epics I can't use a turn-by-turn GPS since it's only been accurate to 30 yards (and that's connected to Wi-Fi). My last one and current one had faulty mini-USB ports. I have to pull my mini-usb upwards so that it can charge, and even then it charges really slowly. My Macbook Pro hasn't been able to recognize 2/3 of my Epics when plugged into USB.

    Overall, I love some pretty simple (but awesome things) for my Android phone. Swype, Swipe Pad, Handcent SMS, Android Agenda widget, I love the Epic's screen... But I just don't like these problems.
     
    simcha likes this.
  4. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    where'd you get an Epic with mini-USB? ;)
     
  5. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    Are you running task killers and memory managers? Not that it would fix the problem, but that can be a side effect when running them. When you have low memory and you try to free it, the stuff in memory that you cleared often helps some of that stuff load faster. instead of a task kilter try watchdog lite.

    You know he meant micro usb. lot of people don't remember the usb 1.0 cables.
     
  6. alanamaslama

    alanamaslama Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    74
    19
    18
    Nah, I don't run any task killers or memory managers. I used to use Juice Defender Ultimate, mainly to control the Wifi/3G signals for whenever the screen was off, but my phone took annoying long to reconnect to 3G (and would almost never reconnect to Wifi) after the screen came back on. But nah, no task killers. Good looking out, tough.

    And yeah, I meant mini-USB. I get the two mixed up lol.
     
  7. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    I know what he meant. I put the smiley there didn't I?
     
  8. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    My bad, I forgot my sarcastic ;)
     
  9. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    Sarcasm on the internet is more awesome than sarcasm in person.
     
    _-Jay-_ likes this.
  10. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    you think so?
     
  11. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    Yeah generally speaking :)
     
  12. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    And in the future you should know the tone I post in! :D
     
  13. rawranocean

    rawranocean Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I have a lot of problems with my epic. I owned it since September of last year and it was great for about the 1st month. Now these might be just complaints or legitimate problems...I'm not sure.

    Initially with the stock 2.1, battery life was horrible. I would go maybe 3/4 of a work day and it would need to be charged. Honestly I didn't have too much of a problem with that, but it kind of sucks when I'm out and about on a weekend and my phone is about to die.

    2nd is I had so much trouble with hanging up or making phone calls at time. It would lag like the cpu is overloaded.

    3rd the problem that bothered me the most is mp3 files. It would come up with...this player does not support these files. It would happen randomly. This became an issue when I used my phone as an alarm with an mp3 as my alarm. My alarm wouldn't go off since it can't play the mp3. This includes my ringtones, so I would just get silent. This would work after a reboot, but I would have to reboot twice a day for my simple mp3s to work.

    So I decided to go with the rooting. Phone became super fast, battery life would exceed a day, and all was merry in the rooting world.

    A month after that, I'm having problems again. The mp3 issue came up once more, GPS is even more horrible than it was before, and occassinally my phone would force close google framework. Now I can't text or make calls, and sometimes it crashes bad enough where I can't even use my phone whatsoever. I'll just have to re-image my phone and all is good for a short amount of time. Couple other people I know have the same issues.

    So here I am looking for answers since I thought rooting would fix my issues.
     
  14. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    Are you running a custom ROM/Kernel?
     
  15. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    since you say .. after rooting and i will assume you installed a custom ROM..

    then a few months later .. you started to experience issues again...
    I am going to guess it is some app or combination of apps.. that is causing your issues. or just too many apps.

    you might want to try... a fresh ROM install.. and only install a few necessary apps. and see... as you add in more apps.
     
  16. rawranocean

    rawranocean Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the help you guys. Bare with me, I don't read up much on my phone yet, so I'm still a bit ignorant.

    I installed Clockwork Mod to root it and then Syndicate Frozen ROM. I tried multiple fresh ROM installs. After a couple crashes, I stopped putting apps on my phone. Last install had only 2 apps: twitter and google reader.

    I'm re-installing a fresh ROM as we speak. I have one theory that might be causing my phone to go bad. I shut my phone off quite a bit. I fly a lot and my phone dies quite a bit. Might mean something goes bad.
     
  17. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    You're using SyndicateROM 1.2 right?
     
  18. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,494
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,494
    4,007
    1,143
    clockwork has been a suspect of a lot of crazy bug issues....

    you might want to look to switching over to amon-ra
    it is cleaner and more stable...for flashing ROMs
     
  19. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    Today is the last straw. For no reason the slider got stuck and a key popped off. Buh bye Epic! Buh bye Samsung! Hello Photon! I'll have it tomorrow.2
     
  20. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    That sucks, with the problems you described, I can understand your POV. Hope the Photon treats you well, and you enjoy it.
     
  21. rawranocean

    rawranocean Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I was on some legacy stuff. I upgraded to Clockwork purple and SRM 1.2. I'll let you guys know how it works. Always works great after a reflash of rom for the first few weeks.
     
  22. CausticPuppy

    CausticPuppy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    10
    3
    16
    My Epic 4G continues to turn more and more into an utter piece of shit.

    It reboots itself every 3 or so days now, even just sitting idle. 3G capability just randomly goes away, requiring a reboot.

    Battery life is completely unpredictable. Sometimes it'll run hot for no reason (no active processes) and drain the battery from 90% in an hour, unless I reboot it. This usually occurs after using the camera.

    And just 5 minutes ago I checked my email. I looked at my first email and attempted to scroll down, and it just locked up hard. The display stayed lit, power button was nonfunctional, all other buttons nonfunctional. So, yep.... gotta remove the battery again.


    I think the tabs on my cover are getting worn out from constantly removing it to do a hard reset, which is the only way to get it back when it goes non-responsive (usually it's locked up with a black screen, this is the first time it locked up with the screen lit up).

    Can't wait to dump this garbage and get the Sprint iPhone.


    ....there, I feel better. :D
     
  23. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    I actually hate my Transformer more with it's defective dock Asus refused to acknowledge is defective and sent the crap back to me untouched only to get the same dock drain problem the very next day. I have more faith in official gingerbread hitting than I do getting my dock fixed by Asus.
     
  24. add119

    add119 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    36
    1
    16
    Male
    I have both evo and epic. Epic is glich at time on browser but gaming,movies and camera is much better than evo. Epic never reboot on me, have the random problem u guy have. And, fyi i have over 130 apps game,social and other apps. Evo 4g doesnt look like 8 megapixes is either Htc lied through spec sheet or a little higher than 5 but not flakie 8 megapixes at best. Even DINC, that I had took better picture with the same pixes.
     
  25. edytwinky

    edytwinky Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    49
    0
    15

    I chuckled when I read this post from July
     

Share This Page

Loading...