1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support does anyone know how to set a picture as your wallpaper without cropping the image?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SDbirdman, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
    does anyone know how to set a picture as your wallpaper without cropping the image to fit all 7 screens on the evo. basically i had a wallpaper app called "shake them up" which allowed me to set any of my pictures as the wallpaper without cropping them. after the latest update the app is making me crop like the phone does. can anyone please help me out.
     

    Advertisement

  2. fastfreddy7

    fastfreddy7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I also would love a work around for this.
     
  3. jds4000

    jds4000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    294
    79
    53
    CRNA
    Sarasota, Florida
    Sure there's a workaround. It used to be done automatically when I owned an iPhone. On my EVO its IMPOSSIBLE. Go figure.
     
  4. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    There's no workaround. The pictures need to be 960x800 pixels to fit without requiring cropping (or stretching as some other apps do).

    The iPhone did nothing different than the EVO does, @above poster.
     
  5. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
    this is absurd. i refuse to believe this device is so limited in this manner.
     
  6. neodorian

    neodorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,113
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,113
    276
    183
    Video Producer
    Baltimore, MD
    I don't get it though. Do you want the photo to just end and not fill up the screen?
     
  7. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    Limited? Do you expect all devices to do the impossible? It either fits the resolution, or it must be cropped/stretched. Period. There are no other ways of handling this, on any device, anywhere.
     
  8. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
    the device used to allow me to use this picture withot cropping. it would just so the same picture on every one of the homescreens. i dont think it should b that hard to set one picture as the background for all seven pages. this device is great but if its unable to do something so simple mayb its not for me.
     
  9. jds4000

    jds4000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    294
    79
    53
    CRNA
    Sarasota, Florida
    Impossible ? Absurd ? Yes.
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Uh... guys... I'm not sure if everyone is aware of this or not, but the crop panel is there simply to maintain aspect ratio, right? And that they aspect ratio is pretty much about the way spaces are being handled?

    And that you can enlarge it by moving it to upper left direction, then grabbing the lower right corner, or one of the borders, to expand it?

    And that when you scroll from space to space the picture only scrolls slightly to the left-right limits?

    And that this is stock Android 2.1 behavior?
     
  11. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    I'd like to try and help but i'm a little confused. An app "shake them up" used to let you use a picture on your homescreen that wouldn't scroll and after the app was updated it no longer works that way and it's the "devices" fault?
     
  12. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
    its not the devices fault. im just frustrated. i hope someone can figure this out. btw. shake them up is a live wallpaper app
     
  13. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    Maybe you should understand that it is one wallpaper for 7 scenes, and that's how it works. That's like complaining that a wallpaper doesn't fit your monitor, and blaming the monitor.
     
  14. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    The built in Sense homescreen requires you to have a wallpaper that is 960x800 and scrolls as you move to different homescreens. You can probably find what you are looking for but it would require you to use a different homescreen program and probably be rooted.
    With Sense there is no way to just center one pic for all seven homescreens.
     
  15. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
    i will look for an app. i'm already rooted so i hope i can find one
     
  16. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    I have the updated version of "shake them all" on both my Evo and Incredible, and it is still automatically filling up my screens just as before, with no request to crop. Maybe try re-downloading it?

    Okay I see what you mean. If you use your own background you are asked to crop it. It's not hard tho, they are just giving you the choice to use what part of your photo you like best, and if you don't feel like dealing with the cropping just click done, and it comes out fine. Just more options, and that's a good thing.
     
  17. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
    tried it not working
     
  18. Colorado_Al

    Colorado_Al Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    114
    75
    53
    Make your picture 960x800. Then you can use the wallpaper setting under menu, move the green rectangle to the upper left corner, then you can stretch the lower right corner to the edge.

    Or you can use an app called:
    Wallpaper Set & Save
    Put your 960x800 pic in a folder called wallpapers on your SD card, and you will be able to choose it from within Wallpaper Set & Save
     
  19. Droidone

    Droidone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    595
    118
    93
    One thing I notice is when using backgrounds, the pic is too zoomed in on the homescreens. When I would use wallpapers on the hero they always looked right. I notice on the Evo that's not the case. I stretch the wallpapers with the little corners but it just looks too blown up. I wonder if the wallpapers are bigger than default if it would look more normal.
     
  20. SDbirdman

    SDbirdman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    San Diego
  21. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    ^this. Anyone that thinks that the crop feature doesn't zoom that shoot once it's on the home screen is blind.
     
  22. 11sec_lx

    11sec_lx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    37
    2
    16
    I use wallaer maker with some success. You might check that out.
     
  23. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    several posters do not understand the issue, the user wants to use a 480x800 pic as their wallpaper and have it show, the full image, on all seven home screens. to do this you need to open the photo in a photo editor, then create a new image that it 960x800 (blank) and copy and past the 480x800 image into it two times, then align it so it shows both completely. that is the best you will get, because the Sense UI does not move the wall paper by 480pixels every time you change scenes, it only moves 80 pixels to the left when you swipe left (each time) and 80 pixels to the right when you swipe right (each time), SO... when you are one or two scenes left or right or center you will see part of each image, when in your main home screen you will see half your image on each side of the screen, and when all the way left or right you will see your whole image. that is the best you can do.
     
  24. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    297
    96
    53
    Social Media Administrator
    San Diego, CA
    You could also take the 800 x 480 image and add a colored canvas to each side (240 pixels each). Then when you're on your main screen, you'll see the whole image but when you shift, you'll see the canvas.

    I looked at Shake Them All and on their market page it says the update added the wallpaper shift. Maybe you can find an older version or ask the developer to make it an option in the settings.
     
  25. mbell75

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    981
    77
    78
    SoCal
    There is an app that generates any pic into a wallpaper for you. Just search wallpaper maker in the market and its by Dodol.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...