1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Does anyone know how to sync yahoo email addresses

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by craigstern, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. craigstern

    craigstern Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I am trying to find out how to sync my addresses from yahoo to my address book in my contacts..please help
     

    Advertisement

  2. joek71

    joek71 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    105
    0
    35
    Self-Employed
    Brooklyn, NY
  3. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    416
    5
    36
    Computer Technician
    Take a guess
    At some point or another I am pretty sure Yahoo used what used to be called SyncML (it's current name is like a mile long so I'll just remit it) for syncing such things and probably at a price too. However I am not sure if Yahoo still uses this. Frankly Yahoo is a cluster &*#$ and the five mins worth of effort I put into obtaining this information from yahoo was completely futile.

    I do know yahoo charges for basic crap like forwarding and pop3 access, so be ready to pay for any sort of syncing options.

    There is a syncML client for Android that supports only contacts at this point.
    https://android-client.forge.funambol.org/

    On an unrelated note.....with so many options out there why do people still use Yahoo? To me personally the stigma that goes a long with a yahoo email address is worse then AOL. Secondly why do people buy a phone centered around Google and want to use Yahoo on it?
     
  4. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    Because we are all creatures of habit, lol... Yahoo being around and one of the First, along with AOL free e-mails, many still maintain those accounts, myself included. I have 8 different e-mail accounts I have set up on my phone on 5 different servers, lmao... anyway...

    I thought when checking out Gmail that there was some sort of ability to do this? Correct me if I am wrong, but I think you can retrieve them via Gmail, then Gmail to your phone. I have not done this, but give it a shot.

    Hope that helps...

    Regards!
    :cool:
     
    bernster likes this.
  5. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    416
    5
    36
    Computer Technician
    Take a guess
    Yeah but you have to pay Yahoo the ransom for your data!

    Yahoo! Mail - Pay us Money NOW!
     
  6. cbarth3

    cbarth3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    54
    5
    16
    Paper Technician
    Texas
    No ransom needed

    I can confirm that changing your yahoo location allows for you to get the yahoo pop access for free.

    My current setting in my hero for the htc mail app are listed below and have no issues getting or sending email.
    pop.mail.yahoo.com
    ssl port 995
    smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    ssl port 465

    To setup as yahoo asia go to mail options and choose accounts
    Choose add or edit accounts
    select account information (will most likely ask for password again)
    under account settings choose set language, site, and time zone
    choose yahoo asia and your time zone
    Once you have made these changes you can than select the pop and forwarding options
     
  7. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    416
    5
    36
    Computer Technician
    Take a guess
  8. cc82

    cc82 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    43
    1
    16
    I use Gmail for work and Yahoo Mail for my personal mail... I've always had the yahoo address and don't feel like switching. I know I could just go w/ 2 Gmail accounts etc., but I prefer to keep them totally separate. Honestly I think the Yahoo Mail web interface is pretty good.
     
    bernster likes this.
  9. troyboytn

    troyboytn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    100
    0
    35
    Knoxville
    I can also confirm that cbarth3's info is correct. I did this over a month ago because yahoo would never sync correctly as configured before. It has worked correctly without fail ever since.
     
  10. rachellefer

    rachellefer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    i just tried this and i think it worked! i love this site! Thanks so much!;)
     
  11. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    Cool Stuff !
    +++1

    :)
     
  12. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Tested and confirmed working. And...those that don't know, this will allow you to pull your yahoo mail while connected to WiFi :)
     
  13. troyboytn

    troyboytn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    100
    0
    35
    Knoxville
    I discovered this back in December and since then, I get my yahoo mail without fail at every sync cycle. Before, with the default mobile settings, it was rare that it would ever sync whether automatically or manully.
     
  14. bernster

    bernster Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    On an unrelated note.....with so many options out there why do people still use Yahoo? To me personally the stigma that goes a long with a yahoo email address is worse then AOL. Secondly why do people buy a phone centered around Google and want to use Yahoo on it?[/QUOTE]


    Because Yahoo Mail is better organised than Google (I have both) and presented in a format which mimics MS Outlook. In all, a better presentation with very good online support. And of course, to buy a phone centred around one supplier would be madness.

    That's why!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...