1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does every phone manufacturer have an own special interface?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by mcgfc, May 10, 2012.

1. mcgfc

mcgfc Lurker
    None

May 10, 2012
    Hi everyone,
    the question I have may seem ridiculous, but since I started interesting myself for Android phones today (yes, I've never even considered touching one before...) I'm a total noob and therefore have no idea what the Android world is like (I've been using an iPhone for 4 years now, and I'm tired of all the restrictions Apple puts on its consumers).
    I've noticed on many of the phone pictures that every manufacturer seems to have an own Android interface which is different from all the other ones (for example HTC always has a big clock on the home screen, Samsung has a weather app thing, etc.). Is this true (and if yes, which manufacturer has the best interface?) or is it just a result of the vast customization possibilities you have with Android?
    I really have to get used again to the fact that there are more than one manufacturers out there competing with each other. Life was quite easy not having to choose ^^

That's all for starters I guess. Thx in advance (and sorry for my English, I'm not a native speaker)

Advertisement

2. mpw

mpw Android Expert
    None

Jan 1, 2010
    the past
    Most will have their own UI over the standard Android, for better or worse, but the Nexus range uses stock Android direct from Google.

I'm sure each have their own champions for different reasons, try a few and see if there's one you like; apps will work pretty much across the board.

3. damewolf13

damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    None

May 14, 2010
    Female
    AZ
    First of all, Welcome to Android forums! We are glad you have found us.:)