1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root does everything work on GV 1.4 ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aardys, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    i am thinking of trying gingervillan 1.4 ,
    but wanted to know if everything works on it, by this i mean like the camera , video , fm radio etc etc , as when scrolling through some threads , there allways seems to be some probs with custom stuff :thinking:
    i dont wana put it on and find radio, dont work and all that .
     

    Advertisement

  2. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,645
    300
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Everythings fine on GV, but it does rely heavily on Cyanogen code. Cyanogen are at RC2 at the moment so if you'd prefer to wait until that gets signed off as GV might well be updated soon as a result.
     
  3. kewlbuddy

    kewlbuddy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    272
    33
    43
    Germany
    I have no problems using it
     
  4. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    Seems to be fine with v1.4. Other ROMs have caused me troubles (Bluetooth connection issues, audio force close, A2SD issues), including MIUI, Redux, Oxygen, but GV performs well for me. :)
     
  5. Staggers

    Staggers Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    197
    39
    63
    Student
    Brighton, UK
    @OP, everything you mentioned works fine for me also. You might want to check the GV thread at XDA to see what others are saying. Link's in my sig.
     
  6. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    well i tried it , and i quite like it :) but ,,it did seems a bit slower than leedroid,:thinking: ,also it used internal memory instead of sd:thinking:
    even though i do have a partition , after clean instal i only had 60mb internal left , also could.'nt use swype in full swype mode , says not for this version :thinking:, so , i have nandroided back to leedroid for now .
    thanks for your input anyway chaps .
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You obviously didn't read post 1 of the gingervillain thread regarding dalvik cache then ;)

    Gv is much faster than leedroid so not sure why yours feels slower
     
  8. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,645
    300
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    I been runnin GV for 3 days now an somfin be killin my battery! I thought I'd try GV, but as soon as Cyanogen signs RC2 off I'll tink I'll go back. With ADW there is no difference cosmetically.
     
  9. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    Really? If I look at my battery stats, I see 1d 3h 16m on battery and the percentage is still 44% full (normal usage). With a light usage I should be able to get 2 days usage.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Wifi Sleep policy set to never?
     
  11. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    i did a full wipe an dlavik clean

    ah yes now i see,,,
    sua2sd cachesd
    does that also splain the slowdown ?
    i find leedroid very snappy with launcher pro .
    gv not so much , seems to lag a bit
     
  12. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,645
    300
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo

    14:45 Wifi sleep policy set to never. Bat stat 96%.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    No it wouldnt just the internal memory issue. Did you restore anything?

    Also, in CM settings > performance You can set lock home in memory and VM heap to 32.
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Not sure what that means. It IS set or you have just set it?

    Thatnks for the time and percentage, any chance you could also supply current weather too?

    ;)
     
  15. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    yeh resrored everything in titanium .
    dint try the other bit , might have another go when i get another day off work , but for now i need a full working phone ,
    many thanks
     
  16. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    as gngerbread will soon be rolled out on ota , am i right in assuming it will soon be custom romed a bit better ?,
    maybe i should just wait a while ;)
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Don't know what you're asking.
     
  18. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    I don't know if the libraries in the released version make any difference, but probably there will be updates for ASOP GB ROMs.
    Anyway, this is a good news for Sense fans - they can finally expect to see Sense GB ROMs for Desire.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I'm willing to bet the desire s 2.3 sense is ported before most have it officially. If not, I bet there won't be much in it
     
  20. Markhypnos

    Markhypnos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #458
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    100
    3
    36
    Liverpool, UK
    Ive had a couple of problems with GV, today the unlock pattern dissapeared (still worked though) had to reset the phone. Its pretty stable otherwise with a few slight hiccups, battery life seems better than Froyo.
     
  21. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,645
    300
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Partly Cloudy
    19'31N 40'08W
    Heading 286 WNW

    Thing now set to what you said.
    :p
     
  22. Staggers

    Staggers Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    197
    39
    63
    Student
    Brighton, UK
    Next time just delete Swype and reinstall via the Swype Installer.
    FYI, most, if not all of your questions/concerns have probably been answered in the GV thread over on XDA. Check it out.
     
  23. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    665
    19
    63
    England
    I've had problems with GPS programmes / satnav while running GV, but that was a while ago. I'm going to make sure various programmes are running well today (on Defrost) then flash GV over the weekend. If everything is as it is after that then I'll be sticking with the Villain, if not I'll be back to Defrost.

    SURoot: "Also, in CM settings > performance You can set lock home in memory and VM heap to 32" - This speed things up some?
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It can prevent lag in launcherpro if you're having it, yes.

    There is a GV 1.5 supposedly coming today or tomorrow. Probably best to wait for that
     
    turbohobbit likes this.
  25. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    665
    19
    63
    England
    Righto and righto. Cheers buddy!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...