1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does factory reset wipe the SD card?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mmarti16, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. mmarti16

    mmarti16 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    112
    16
    58
    Ok, I did a quick search but can't find the answer. I did a factory reset and my dumb azz forgot to delete the SD card first. Does the reset wipe it also? I am going to sell my droid since I have a droid X. Sorry for a stupid question it its been posted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    411
    47
    43
    Bloomer, WI
    No, a factory reset wipe clears the internal data/cache. It doesn't do anything to the SD card.
     
    mmarti16 likes this.
  3. mmarti16

    mmarti16 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    112
    16
    58
    ok, I assume i could install it into my X and mount/wipe?
     
  4. skilaufen

    skilaufen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    570
    88
    78
    Something
    Somewhere

    If you want to wipe your SD card then yes put it into your X and format it. That will wipe everything off the card.
     
  5. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,119
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,119
    13,043
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    You COULD, but if you mount the SD card and then tell it to wipe the SD card, then you will have nothing left on your SD card. Is that what you're talking about doing?
     
  6. Alyianna

    Alyianna Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #618
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    101
    21
    38
    Female
    Dubuque, Iowa
    Why not just swap the SD cards? Put the one in your Droid into the X and the one in the X into the droid? Wouldn't that work? Then you could keep all your stuff on your current card.
     
  7. mmarti16

    mmarti16 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    112
    16
    58
    My droid is only two months old and I don't have much on it...I did wipe the card by swapping into my X.
     
  8. mmarti16

    mmarti16 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    112
    16
    58
    yes, I am selling the droid. I now have the droid X.
     
  9. washwords

    washwords Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    I did a hard reset. we unmounted and took out the SD card before we reset. I put it back and now Droid (not my PC) doesn't recognize the SD card at all. What to do? Are my pictures lost?
     
  10. timhow

    timhow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    First thing I would try is putting the SD card back in the Droid and then do another reset.

    If that didn't work, I'd copy all of the contents of the SD card over to the computer. Then put the card back in the Droid and format. Then copy the contents from the SD backup on the computer back onto the newly formatted card.
     
  11. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    394
    32
    43
    texas
    Try reboot?
     
  12. Whoosh13

    Whoosh13 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    okay, i have a galaxy s i9000, and I have used Titanium Backup to backup apps, app data, and system data. However, it backed up all the data to my Internal SD card. I know my factory reset wont delete things on my external SD card, but will it delete stuff from my Internal SD Card? If so, how do I backup the Titanium backups from internal sd to external sd.
    Also, after the factory reset I would like to restore only the Apps that i installed myself, and only the app data, NOT the system settings that I backed up just in case they bring back the problems that i hoped would be deleted from the reset, so is there any way I could tell Titanium backup to restore my apps and app data and NOT the system data?
     

Share This Page

Loading...