1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Does Foxfi work with 4.3 on Verizon?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrryanthai, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    527
    33
    68
    Male
    I went back to stock and regret it because I can't root my phone.So I'm wondering if Foxfi work? Because I downloaded it and the Verizon hot spot still came on the notification bar.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,391
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,391
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Verizon is now blocking tethering unless you have a tethering account. The version of Android and the tethering app you use have nothing to do with it.
     
  3. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    527
    33
    68
    Male
    Tethering account? Please explain
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,483
    Posts:
    20,054
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,054
    9,773
    1,483
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Why can't you root your device, you can still root if you're on 4.3 ;)
     
  5. mntom

    mntom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    60
    5
    16
    I'm on 4.3 (Verizon) and I can't root. I try to use CASUAL but it doesn't work for me. I get various errors (sorry, I haven't done it in a while so I can't remember). I'm afraid of bricking my phone so I've just given up on the rooting thing. No great advantage to the average user anyway.
     
  6. mrryanthai

    mrryanthai Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    527
    33
    68
    Male
    Casual doesn't work.it gets stuck in download while Casual says searching for download mode :(
     
  7. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
  8. Cid67

    Cid67 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    98
    1
    36
    Male
    Is tethering the same as wifi hotspot..?
     
  9. nsa_sailor

    nsa_sailor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    413
    52
    83
    Engineer
    Wichita
    I may be wrong in this, but back in the days of unlimited data, Verzion blocked the HotSpot feature, unless you paid a surcharge for use.
    Now that Verizon doesn't sell (affordable) unlimited data plans anymore (unless you were grandfathered in under a previous plan), the HotSpot feature works.

    So, when people ask about tethering, they are probably still under the grandfathered unlimited data plan and are trying to avoid or work around the surcharge.
     
  10. Cid67

    Cid67 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012

    Dec 26, 2012
    98
    1
    36
    Male
    I'm in Canada on Bell & our phones have the "wifi hotspot" option & can connect with pretty much anything that has wifi capabilities to use the data..
     
  11. mbtaylor29

    mbtaylor29 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    In Foxfi, what's the certification password? It won't let me get past that popup.
     
  12. iamartimus

    iamartimus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013

    Apr 29, 2013
    28
    1
    16
    I used to be able to use FoxFi on my AT&T service, but can't after updating. Arghhhh......says I have to contact my provider to have tethering. Dangit!!!
     
  13. Prepaidguy9081

    Prepaidguy9081 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    667
    54
    78
    Jedi x rom?
    Root, flash, work?

    I dont have a verizon phone so idk but it sure did thwart tmobiles little plan with hidden apns.
     

Share This Page

Loading...