1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Does Galaxy Have TV Out??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by apcs, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. apcs

    apcs Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I didn't think so but i have just found this

    Samsung TV Out Cable - 3.5mm Phones


    is says on the site that this tv out cable is compatable with the i7500 & i5700 amongst others

    can anyone confirm if this is correct or not

    Many Thanks

    Andy
     

    Advertisement

  2. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,217
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009

    May 29, 2009
    1,217
    130
    143
    Denmark
    I've seen a bunch of tech demos where they had the Galaxy display echoed on a big screen, but I'm pretty sure that was using the USB port and some (adb?) software goodness. That is to say, I think you'd get pretty poor video quality from a 3.5mm jack; and in any case I don't know how the signal would get out there -- unless it's always being sent out to the headset, which seems unlikely.

    No, I think that cable will do audio, but not video. Maybe they just had the RCA-end from another part number, and decided to market it for the Galaxy, I don't know.
     
  3. Naruvam

    Naruvam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    161
    7
    36
    Serbia
    I'll test this tommorow with my girls nokia 5800xm 3.5mm tv out cable and report if it works :D
     
  4. Naruvam

    Naruvam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    161
    7
    36
    Serbia
    It didn't work but then again it was nokia cable after all. I've just tought since their headphones layout was same tv cable might be too...
     
  5. apcs

    apcs Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    i have tried a nokia cable too. didn't work for me either but their tech support have just emailed me back and they are confident it will work so i've ordered one. will let everybody know how i get on.

    Andy
     
  6. kirpi

    kirpi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    so did it work? maybe it works with the phone software update?
     
  7. benner

    benner Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    93
    2
    16
    i tried a cable that came with another device, the 3.5 jack had 4 bands on it which i am sure is a video cable (the other end had red, white, yellow RCA's) and i got no video. bummer. i was on holiday and it was raining. fortunately, my psp stepped in and turned out to be a great video player for the tv.
     
  8. informale

    informale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    704
    33
    68
    Scotland
    People, give it up. i7500 is not intended for playing video on external displays.
     
  9. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    What does work is a screencast over USB/ADB. You capture it as a .mov and the resolution is very high and looks nice on a big screen. It isn't live but probably looks a lot better than a video out would if it could. I used DroidExplorer for that.
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    indeed, droid explorer you can screen case live
     

Share This Page

Loading...