1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Does GPS drain the battery if not being actively used?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnJSal, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #262
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    I noticed when I have GPS on but am not in an app that uses it, there is no GPS icon in the status bar. When I go into Google Maps, for example, then the icon appears.

    Does this mean that when it's not being actively used, it isn't really "working" and thus not draining the battery, or at least not by much?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    If an application isn't requesting it, it's not running. If an application requests it, it's running. It's not like this on the Epic, only the Evo. With the Epic, you have to turn it off, other wise it's constantly trying to work. Keyword, trying. *zing*
     
    DarkNeo and JohnJSal like this.
  3. hambonewc

    hambonewc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    50
    3
    16
    Yes I never turn mine off which has worked our nicely. I've lost my phone twice and both times was able to locate it with mylookout. On a sidenote the GPS in this phone is awesome. Mylookout located my phone accurate to within 10 meters both times and both times my phone was indoors.
     
  4. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    I used to keep mine off until i needed it but for that past few months it's on all the time and I notice no difference in battery life.
     
  5. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #262
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    Yeah, that's what I just started doing, and so far it doesn't seem to be a problem.
     
  6. slugbug

    slugbug Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    171
    21
    38
    Longhorn Land
    Mine is also on 100% of the time. Unless an app needs it, it will not come on.
     
  7. buMitch333

    buMitch333 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    97
    3
    16
    Tampa, FL
    this is great never knew that, going to keep mine on all the time now too so i dont have to wait to use it like i used to
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...