1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Does having GPS on use data?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iChaseH, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. iChaseH

    iChaseH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Student
    I'm watching my data usage and just got the Droid Pro. I have widgets that need a GPS signal (weather ones) to operate. Usually I have my GPS off, but I turned it on and now the widgets work and I'd like to keep it on for these widgets but I don't want it to use data if thats what the GPS does. I already have my 3G disabled unless I need it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    The gps itself doesnt use data, its just a satellite signal receiver. However, those widgets will use data to communicate your location to the server, and download the appropriate data.
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    GPS itself doesn't use data. So its safe to leave it on, since it only actually activates when an app is using it. But apps that might be using the GPS service might use data. So that weather widget you are using is asking for the location from the GPS, and then downloads the weather information according to what the GPS tells it.

    So its your widgets and apps that use data. GPS doesn't at all.
     
  4. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    A weather app needs GPS for your location and data to update the weather forecast.
    Without forecast a weather app is useless :)

    Harry
     
  5. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    I will agree with all of the above, though I will refrain from repeating things that were already said likea couple have already done. LOL! ;)
     
  6. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,882
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,882
    3,481
    923
    yes.. they others are right....

    GPS is for getting your location from satilites... no data.

    but after it gets your location, the app then looks for data to present to you the information you need.

    if you are in a wifi hotspot.... then it can get the data with wifi instead of Cell Network.
     
  7. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    you don't need GPS for weather widget. 3g works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...