1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Does installing a new launcher on the s4 disable

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shockwave78, May 23, 2013.

  1. Shockwave78

    Shockwave78 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011

    Oct 16, 2011
    339
    30
    63
    HVAC
    NH
    All of samsungs tweaks they made with touchwiz? Stuff like smart stay, hand swiping and hovering to scroll pages. Is all this stuff and any other extra features they added still running in the background when a new launcher is installed?

    I really hate the looks of touch wiz, but love the look of stock ics/jellybean. I ran apex jelly bean in my s3 that I had 3 different times before finally realizing it wasn't for me. I want to give it another try though with the s4
     

    Advertisement

  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It shouldn't. It would only prevent that launcher from opening/running if you set the custom launcher to always once installed. It won't even technically be disabled unless you do so in Titanium Backup, or in the settings -> apps list(if even possible)
     
    Shockwave78 likes this.
  3. Shockwave78

    Shockwave78 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011

    Oct 16, 2011
    339
    30
    63
    HVAC
    NH
    Cool, I am not looking to keep any of the Samsung tweaks if that's how it sounded. To much stuff going on if you ask me. I want it simple like stock android. But I don't want the Sammy stuff running in the Backround using up resources consuming battery life.
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    I hear you, I'm often critical of battery life which is why I like to keep my device as minimal as possible.
     
  5. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    No, they will all still be there. just disable them. Then install Nova launcher and change the look to stock jellybean, you don't have to use them

    That said some will still be there in the background, if you want to go further you need to root or flash custom roms.
     
  6. CoronaDoug

    CoronaDoug Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    134
    35
    43
    D F W
    I just loaded Nova and all is good. :beer:
     
  7. trparky

    trparky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    692
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    My suggestion... Before you go and load your new launcher, remove any and all icons and widgets first and leave only one page left. Load the third-party launcher as you see fit. Then, go to the Manage Apps screen, find the TouchWiz launcher, tap it and then tell the phone to Clear Cache and Data.
     
  8. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,418
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    It's like an AF reunion in these parts with the release of a new phone :D:D

    The eyeball scroll thing only works in the stock browser (samsung) and not in chrome.... unless I'm doing it wrong.
     
  9. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,482
    200
    143
    student
    north alabama
    all of these features only work in samsung apps. smart scroll, air gesture etc work in the samsung browser, the stock messaging app, stock email, stock gallery etc
     
  10. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Glad I searched. I wanted to install a 3rd party launcher all because TouchWiz has the immobile Apps dock button and a 4x4 screen instead of 4x5 but didn't know if any features would break.
     
  11. joesixpack

    joesixpack Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    338
    82
    53
    Male
    Northeast OH
    I installed Nova as well and all the TW features still work like they did before. Asked the same question myself, so I know of what you're concerned about. Go for it!
     
  12. Mr. Lucky

    Mr. Lucky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,087
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011

    Oct 27, 2011
    2,087
    511
    263
    business owner
    SoCal
    S4 with Apex Pro here. The only thing lost was some TW-specific widgets.
     
  13. beowulf7

    beowulf7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #226
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    541
    32
    98
    Male
    Engineer
    TX
    That explains why I haven't been able to get the smart scroll to work with Dolphin and Firefox browsers. I don't use the stock "Internet" or Chrome browsers. I might as well turn the smart crap off to conserve battery, I guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...